08 December, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: Read an #Excerpt from A Marketplace for Murder by @DebleenaR


*** Special Feature - December 2019 ***

About the Book:



Is murder of human body the only kind of murder? What about murder of a dream? Or, murder of identity? This who and whydunit crime thriller explores the three questions through the unravelling of a web of lies, murder and deceit that threaten to bring crime very close home for Leena, a business journalist. The alternating first person voice of the unknown killer and third person narrative takes the story across a modern-day Bangalore and a strange discovery at an archaeological expedition with characters you would have seen around you. One of them, of course, is not who they seem to be.





Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon





Black ink seemed to have leaked from his old notebook and spread all around him. Even the fireflies had stayed away tonight. He was just returning home after an entire day spent in the parched fields; his small, lean, body parched with thirst and hunger. As he walked, he was trying to remember the song his mother used to sing to him frequently.

The melody and her low voice had reminded him of the sea. And somehow, though he found the song beautiful, he had also found it sad. It was not a song one could forget easily. He stopped abruptly when he saw an orange glow of light leaping into the sky. It stretched against the darkness. Only after a minute of mute admiration did he realize it was unnatural. There was something wrong.

He ran towards his house as fast as his bony, tired legs could carry him. He was still quite some distance away when he saw the men with the sticks silently walking towards his mother. And he saw his mother, her whole face contorted, looking around for any signs of escape. He knew that look on her face. He didn’t know what it meant. He had first seen it on his mother’s face when she told him there was no money to send him to school anymore. And that his father was not coming back, just not coming back home anymore. It was the look he hated to see on his mother’s face. The look that meant the end of her smile. And end of her songs.

He tried running towards her but his legs refused to move. He tried to shout; his mouth seemed to be choking with the ashes from the orange flame. And before he could even realize what was happening, his mother ran back inside their blazing house, burning every inch of his childhood. Thick, dark tears were pouring down his face onto his torn shirt by now. The men started running towards the house. They drew back looking at the fury of the fire. One of them ran to get a bucket to douse the flames but the angry hiss of the orange glow ignored his pathetic attempts and glared angrily at him.

Some instinct told him to turn back. To run. To keep running. Before the men turned back and saw him. There was nothing left. Not even his books. Not even his mother’s forgotten smile and songs. Not even a single whisper of their old life. And it was in that moment that he remembered the song his mother had been singing, “Amai dubai li re, amai bhashai li re.” It was the song of a sailor who was rushing through the turbulent sea in a broken boat, searching for the shore. He ran. Sometime over the next weeks, as he lost all sense of time and place, boarding multiple trains and buses with no destination in mind, he had found himself placed in an orphanage. A small, dirty orphanage with a dozen other kids of varying ages. His most clear memory from those days was one of hunger. Hunger that seemed to be always lurking behind their dirt-streaked faces and their torn clothes. Hunger that he tried to swallow and gulp, choking over his empty spit.



Giveaway:
You could win a copy of A Marketplace for Murder.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

07 December, 2019

#Spotlight :: If You’re Reading This… by Alex Tveit - @XpressoTours


If You’re Reading This…
Alex Tveit
Publication date: December 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
The last thing that sixteen-year-old Petter expects while sitting on an airplane is an email from his father. Especially since his dad died of cancer five weeks earlier.
As if that emotional rollercoaster wasn’t enough, Petter’s mother thinks it’s a good idea to move them across the world from Norway to her childhood home outside of Boston.
Using emails sent from beyond the grave, Petter’s father tries to remain a source of guidance and life lessons for his son. Hidden among these teachings are also clues leading Petter out on an adventure. The last one that he would ever have with his father.
Then Petter meets Max. She joins him on his quest and becomes a bright spark of color in a world that moments before seemed very grey.


Author Bio:
Alex Tveit grew up just outside of Oslo, Norway. He currently lives in Toronto, Canada and has authored several children's books, as well as other works of fiction and non-fiction.

XBTBanner1

06 December, 2019

#WeOnlyTalkBooks - Episode 3: Indian Thrillers - @WeOnlyTalkBooks




For our third episode we talked about Indian thrillers as a genre and some of our favorite books / memories about the same.




In later part of the episode we talk about - You Beneath Your Skin by Damyanti Biswas.  

Other Books mentioned in the show - 

Bhendi Bazaar



Go on... tell us what you guys think. Leave a comment on the BLOG or TWEET to us!


05 December, 2019

#CoverReveal :: Saved by Love by @shilpaauthor

~ Cover Reveal ~
Saved by Love 
by Shilpa Suraj


About the Book:

They meet under impossible circumstances.

She is kidnapped by terrorists blackmailing her father, a Supreme Court Judge. He leads the team sent to rescue her. 

Trekking to safety through Ladakh... They are in danger of falling in love. But, Lt. Col. Arjun Rathod knows that Naina Ahuja, engaged to politics' rising star, is not meant for him.

Forever changed by her trauma, Naina walks out of her controlling family and forges a new life.

And then, she meets Arjun again. But this time, he is engaged to someone else.

Can they save their love or is it too late?


About the Author:

Shilpa Suraj wears many hats - corporate drone, homemaker, mother to a fabulous toddler and author.
An avid reader with an overactive imagination, Shilpa has weaved stories in her head since she was a child. Her previous stints at Google, in an ad agency and as an entrepreneur provide colour to her present day stories, both fiction and non-fiction.





Contact the Author:

01 December, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - Stories that numbers could tell by @DebleenaR


Under "Special Feature" every month I feature a Special Author. 
During this month I put up 5 posts about the Author/Book, including Interview / Review / Excerpt / Guest Post / Author Bio / Fun Facts or whatever else we can come up with. Also on the first day of the month we will  launch the Giveaway contest along with the first post and will announce the winner on the last day of the month.
So be sure to check out my blog every 1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd and 29th of every month for something new :)

*** Special Feature - December 2019 ***




Sometime in Class 11, I remember starting off an essay with this line, “Two hours and three cups of coffee later…..”  My English teacher, while distributing the exercise books back, called me to her desk. I was sure that I was caught out.

You see, in those days, my head was filled with numbers. I compulsively read books. But Math consumed my dreams. And I spent most English classes, pored over my notebook, solving some Math problem. Did I forget to erase some Math work where I was supposed to write my essay?
I was in for a surprise. Rather than scolding me, she praised the opening line and added, with her usual flair for sarcasm, “It would be nice if you tried to write, once a while. After all, Math is not running away anywhere.”

Years later, when I started writing seriously, I often thought of my teacher and what she said that day. Today, as I explore life through many lens, as an entrepreneur, and as a journalist, those worlds have collided. After years of working in Finance in roles involving Investment Management, Investment Banking and Venture Capital, I co-founded Kahaniyah, where we practice data-driven storytelling. A second company I co-founded is called StoryEd where we work with youth who are not in formal education or employment pathways and help them get school leaving certification and income through a storified curriculum. Meanwhile, my work as an investigative journalist for Economic Times Primes keeps me probing, with both stories and numbers.

Words and Numbers. Stories and Data. In a strange quirk that’s life, I made peace with both today. And writing, in a way, has stopped me from running away.

Here’s my introduction, through a poem.

Settling an old score

I am not here to give advice
You wouldn’t take it. 
My daughter’s 13.
And she doesn’t. Already. Ya.
Adolescence strikes early these days.
With it comes rebellion. The questions.
And sometimes, them too.
The know-it-all. The cynical. 
All I can tell you is that I have
Been there. In the blank spaces
That simmer in your mind.
Questioning education
To the beat of my poem song.
Debating mechanical jobs
Over steaming cups of tea.
And dreaming of changing the world
With one strum of my guitar. But,
Somewhere between the dirt track of 
Rebellion and the highways of glitter,
I ditched my guitar and my dreams
And donned the Suit of obedience.
It never fit me well.
So I kept changing suits. Jobs. Dreams.
Nothing stuck to me. Nothing was mine.
The college guitar got rusted.
I no longer sang those tunes.
And if it stared at me accusingly sometimes,
I found a big cupboard to stack my lost dreams
With the big money I got from my big jobs.
It took me 15 years to dust off that rust and
To learn the pathways to the lost dirt-tracks.
No google maps to find my way.
And when I found them, I realized, 
The broken guitar could be repaired
And the ill-fitting suit could be ditched.
I still had a dream.
What changed me?
I thought of my story.
The story I would like my daughter to learn.
If I had 10 ten lines to craft the headline of my life
What would I say? Lived the dreams of others
Sampled tasteless gossip at office water coolers
Used big words to hide my small outcomes?
Or would I say - I still dream. And I tell stories.
For stories can change lives. It did. Mine.

About the Book:



Is murder of human body the only kind of murder? What about murder of a dream? Or, murder of identity? This who and whydunit crime thriller explores the three questions through the unravelling of a web of lies, murder and deceit that threaten to bring crime very close home for Leena, a business journalist. The alternating first person voice of the unknown killer and third person narrative takes the story across a modern-day Bangalore and a strange discovery at an archaeological expedition with characters you would have seen around you. One of them, of course, is not who they seem to be.





Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Giveaway:
You could win a copy of A Marketplace for Murder.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

30 November, 2019

#CoverReveal :: The Mahāsiddha Field by @DwaiLahiri

~ Cover Reveal ~ 
The Mahāsiddha Field
by Dwai Lahiri


About the Book:
Cover Design by Merril Anil
The world of Asuras and Dévas is considered mythological. Indian mythology is replete with tales of Dévas battling the Asuras constantly. The interesting thing to note is that whether it is a God or an incarnation of a deity in human form, aka an Avatār, there was also a human element involved in these stories. The teachers of the Dévas (gods) and the Asuras were human sages, known as Rishis.

Find out what happens when seemingly unconnected individuals get drawn into a world of suspense and action, as mythology collides with their world in the book 'The Mahāsiddha Field', the first in a new sci-fi/fantasy series!

An elderly wandering mendicant in South India, two young Indian-American men, two soldiers from the Indian Army and a mysterious sage from high up in the Himalayas are thrown together in an adventure unlike any other; as a most unlikely adversary leaps out of the world of Indian Mythology to challenge their beliefs, their sanity and their courage.


About the Author:
Dwai is a long time practitioner of the Daoist internal arts with a focus on Taijiquan. He is also an eager student and practitioner of Advaita Vedānta, Kashmir Shaivism and Yoga. He enjoys being part of the artistic process in various forms - as a writer, musician and a martial artist. The Arts are an excellent medium for spiritual practice and he has dedicated more than two decades of his life in the quest for spiritual clarity.

He started writing in the early 2000s in the public domain, under the pen name ‘Rudra’ for ‘sulekha.com’, which then was the preeminent online literary portal for the Indian Diaspora.  In 2007 he started the online journal ‘The Medha Journal’ where over 1000 articles---the compiled work of 96 authors including himself are available for readers today, on various topics ranging from Indic studies, philosophy to poetry and fiction.

In the worldly domain, he is a software engineer for a Silicon Valley software company, and an engineer by training. He likes to think of himself as humble bridge between many disparate worlds-- science and spirituality, art and technology, Eastern and Western cultures.

 He lives in the suburbs of Chicago in Illinois, USA with his wife, daughter and two dogs.

Contact the Author:
Blog * Twitter * LinkedIn * Quora




29 November, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: #Interview with @sourabhm_ofcl, #Author of The Sinners


*** Special Feature - November 2019 ***


Quick Recap
22nd November - The Modern Thriller

About the Author:

Sourabh is the author of two psychological thriller novels The Colours of Passion: Unravelling Dark Secrets behind the Limelight (Readomania) and  In the Shadows of Death: A Detective Agni Mitra Thriller (Srishti Publishers and Distributors); Romance Shorts, a collection of dark-romance short stories; a 2-part series Beyond 22 Yards (Srishti Publishers and Distributors) on stories of Love and Crime from the world of cricket and a 7-part series of short stories titled It’s All About Love (Srishti Publishers and Distributors). The titles in the series are The Gift, The Cookery Show and a Love Story, A Special Day, Masks, An Autumn Turmoil, The Hunt, The Death Wish.

A keen observer of human behaviour and cultural diversities, Sourabh loves travelling and has travelled widely across five continents. An avid reader of fiction, Sourabh is equally passionate about photography, movies and music.



Contact the Author:


Interview with the Author:

When did you first realize that you wanted to be a writer/ a storyteller?
I have been writing for as long as I can remember. I have never really written for a purpose – it is just something I love to do. In my early childhood, I would spend hours writing, as well as making illustrations for my own stories. A number of my poems were published in children’s magazines back in the day. I continued to write through my teenage and later in college. 
I kept writing in office magazines for a couple of years, but the demands of my career as an Information Technology professional and my travels across the world soon left me with very little time and creative energy to write fiction. 
However, as I travelled across the world, I grew as a person getting to observe people from widely varying cultural backgrounds and to study their emotions, their thoughts, their behaviour from various perspectives. And stories began to grow all over again. 
I won the Golden Pen Award in the Monsoon Romance Contest 2014, conducted by Sulekha.com and judged by an eminent panel of literary luminaries. That was when I decided to take my writing career more seriously. 
My debut novel In the Shadows of Death was published by Srishti Publishers in the winter of 2015.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned while creating your books?
When I am in the process of writing, I actually let the sights and the sounds in my mind take over. It, therefore, becomes extremely important for me to be in the ‘appropriate’ frame of mind to write, irrespective of the time of the day or my surroundings. I need to be in those situations myself.

How has your experience been different this time around from The Agni Mitra Series?
This time, the story is set in Mumbai, instead of Kolkata. Also because this story is not an investigative thriller, unlike the Agni Mitra thrillers, I do not talk about police procedurals. There is, of course, a detective, but this gentleman is rather quirky and a sharp contrast to Agni Mitra.

What do you hope for the readers to take away from The Sinner?
The storyline of The Sinners is inspired by the thought that, we are busy developing technology for the future, but at the end of the day, we are human beings with primal, caveman instincts. This contradiction is a very interesting subject. 
The story unfolds in a technology company in Mumbai, that is in the business of manufacturing next generation smart devices, and in a short time, has emerged as a force to reckon with in the global market. With this setting, “The Sinners” is a fast-paced corporate thriller that regales readers with accounts of how battles are fought in the corporate with internal, as well as external enemies, why security of information and ideas is indispensable, and the extent to which rival firms can go for business gains. 
Finally, as in my previous thrillers, “The Sinners” is primarily about human psychology and goes into the psyche of its characters. It deals with the complicated dynamics of human relationships, and reflects the society and the times we live in.

Please tell us about the characters in your book.
I will present a high-level sketch of the characters in The Sinners. The handsome and charismatic protagonist Vikram Oberoi, who is a ruthless go-getter and notorious for his dalliances outside his marriage; the disgruntled wife who believes that her family would be saved if Vikram were not drunk on power; the new intern who falls for Vikram’s charms; the jilted lover who vows revenge; the ambitious boss who would not let Vikram’s bohemian lifestyle get in the way of the company’s success; a colleague who was once a classmate and who now eyes Vikram’s chair; the Head of a rival firm all set to destroy Vikram; a mysterious woman laying out honeytraps to sabotage Vikram’s plans; and a quirky detective form an eclectic mix of characters that keep the reader hooked to the story.

What is the cardinal rule of writing a mystery/thriller?
Thrillers these days are rarely about stolen antique or rare jewels. Thrillers today are more about human psychology. They are about the complicated dynamics of human relationships. They reflect the society and the times we live in. And that is what draws me to a thriller as a reader.
Today, we are consuming crime stories from all quarters – TV, news, movies, the internet. And it is probably getting harder and harder for the mystery writer to conjure an unexpected ending. There is so much of true crime we are reading about and watching around us that it is often difficult to deliver jaw-dropping twists. Also, readers like me who read lots of crime books every year get used to spotting hints and clues in the narrative as they read along.
Therefore, for me, when I read a thriller today, whether I was kept guessing about the identity of the antagonist till the last page, is no longer the most important thing. What I look for in a modern thriller is how we get there, how deep we go into the psyche of the characters. I want the narrative to be intriguing and satisfying to the extent where I feel it is all real, where I can relate to the characters and everything that is happening to them.

What kind of research goes into your book?
I am an instinctive author. However, the amount of research one needs to do before writing a book depends largely on the subject.
For instance, when I am writing about homicide investigation, I do a fair amount of research into areas like forensics, autopsy procedures, DNA studies, cyber forensics and so on.
These, of course, are always supplemented by my own studies on criminal psychology, which is a subject of personal interest.

Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?
Always. There’s a bit of me in every story I write, and the one who knows, knows.

What did you do with your first check from your books?
I invested in marketing my books.

What are the most unethical practices in the publishing industry?
I believe a number of unethical practices in the publishing industry stem from the rather unreasonable desire of authors and publishers to meet numbers and targets they set for themselves, instead of focusing on developing a platform and creating a following of readers, organically. Instead of boosting sales numbers by buying back copies, influencing sales figures in stores or ratings and reviews in online platforms, authors should focus on reading, creating quality content, engaging with readers, and working on feedback.

What is the best piece of advice you would give to someone that wants to get into writing?
It is important to create real, identifiable characters in a story – unless of course one is writing a fantasy or a superhero story. Correct use of the language is essential. An author should ensure that a story progresses at a uniform pace – a story that slows down after an energetic start is a big letdown. Finally, it is not about the length but always about the impact of a story. I have read 1-page stories that have left me thinking for days.

What are you currently working on?
I am currently planning the third Agni Mitra novel!



About the Book:


Vikram Oberoi is found dead in his penthouse. A few hours ago, his involvement in a sex scandal in NexGen Technologies made headlines across the world.

Who is behind the sinister conspiracy that destroyed Vikram Oberoi, the philandering India Head of NexGen? Rivals within and outside the firm? One of his many jilted lovers or the miffed wife? A mysterious conspirator laying out honey traps to sabotage his plans? Or, is it the ghost of a sinful past that continues to haunt the Oberois? 

The Sinners is a fast-paced thriller with a shocking twist that unravels against the backdrop of corporate warfare, illicit relationships and ruthless seduction games.





Book Links:

Giveaway:
1 Paperback Copy of The Sinners
1 Paperback Copy of The Colours of Passion

a Rafflecopter giveaway

25 November, 2019

#BookBlitz :: The Nigerian Prince by Esi Wilson - @XpressoTours



The Nigerian Prince by Esi Wilson

Published by: Visualbee Publishing
Publication date: November 25th 2019
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Thriller
Her: Everyone knows not to bother replying to the ‘Nigerian Prince’ Scam emails. But this one caught me at the worst time of my life. I was broken. So naturally, my curiosity got the best of me. I did it and there isn’t an ‘undo’ button.
Him: If you had seen her eyes, you wouldn’t blame me for what I did. What is a small lie when there is much to be gained?
Five childhood friends from Africa are linked forever through a shared traumatic experience. Driven by their affluent backgrounds, they frequent luxurious trips across the globe to stay connected. At the center of the conflict is Deji, a rich, young prince from Nigeria. In his quest to find fulfillment with a career he loves, he finds love instead through unlikely circumstances. His life becomes entwined with that of Tanya, an aspiring American actress he meets over the internet. The intrigues surrounding his friendships and his personal life stand as obstacles to their budding relationship. Will the strong bond of friendship triumph over the emotions pulling at Deji’s heartstrings?



EXCERPT:

“Ah, Oga,” The shorter of the two addressed me. “Anything for the boys?”

Just as I thought.

Being one of the richest people in Nigeria meant you always had to shower money on people at every turn. That was the Nigerian mentality. A rich man built and solidified his reputation by the amount of cash he disbursed freely and the regularity with which he did so. Personally, I thought the whole thing was backward, if not a bit uncivilized. But I did like giving and I had excess cash anyway. It wasn’t a bother.

I gave them a thousand naira to share and was about to drive off when I remembered the bottles of Sprite I had bought earlier.

“Boss, na you oh,” they both hailed as I handed them the drinks. I smiled and drove into the compound of the huge mansion Dipo had leased.

As I got out of the car, I noticed that although most of the equipment was set up, nothing important was happening. I recognized some A-list actresses lounging around the pool in sexy bikini outfits. Had they finished shooting? Fear gripped me. Man, I had messed up.

Heart in my mouth, I approached a member of the crew, a man probably in his early 30s with bushy eyebrows and a beard.

“Good afternoon, sir. Una don finish?” I asked with an outward calm I wasn’t feeling.

“For where? Director never ready na,” he responded. He didn’t seem happy about that but I was ecstatic. But I decided not to let my happiness show in case he transferred his aggression about the delay onto me.

“Where is he?” I asked.
A
t that, the man turned and gave me an appraising glance. I guess he was trying to determine if I was qualified to see the esteemed Dipo Ajayi. It seemed I passed muster – he jerked his head towards the left side of the building and gave me directions.

A few minutes later, I knocked on a door labeled Director. On hearing a muffled response from within, I twisted the knob and stepped into… a den of iniquity. There was really no other way to describe the disturbing sight that greeted my eyes.

Through a haze of smoke, I caught sight of half-naked girls lounging on every available piece of furniture in the spacious room. Some had the decency to wear bras but most were naked from the waist up. Everywhere smelt of Igbo, the popular Nigerian weed, and I could detect a whiff of freshly-made amala. Just as I was beginning to wonder if I was in the right room, I heard my name being called.

“Ajibade? I was wondering when you were going to show up.”

I peered through the smoke and right in the middle of the room, dressed in a colorful dashiki, sat Dipo. He was enjoying a meal of amala and ewedu soup. The dark brown amala made from yam flour, contrasted perfectly with the dark green hue of the mashed ewedu leaves. From the number of empty bottles of beer that lined the table, I could see that he had indulged far too much.

He gestured towards me with fingers covered in soup.

“Come over here, boy. Don’t stand there like a statue.”

I slowly walked towards him and noticed the two bare-breasted girls beside him. The girl on the right was topping up his beer glass while the girl on the left was flagrantly smoking weed from a rolled paper. Granted, I had done some wild things in my life but I had never seen this level of classless debauchery and all at midday.

“Won’t you sit down?” the girl smoking asked me, tapping the space beside her. Her eyes were glazed with the effects of the weed. “Or are you shy?”

Dipo scoffed as he swallowed a morsel of amala.

“Shy? The Deji Ajibade? I don’t think so.”

I took the empty seat.

“Ladies,” Dipo called out overly loudly. “This is the real estate prince. Next in line to the Imena throne and heir to the Ajibade real estate empire. He wants to try his hand at movie production. I have no idea why,” he announced, muttering the last part to the girl on his right. “Rich people, eh?” he said mockingly, winking at his girls who giggled in response.

I stood up abruptly, feeling embarrassed, angry, and disgusted all at once. This wasn’t what I signed up for.

“Sit down, Deji. Jé kí àwon girls mi tójú e dáadáa. Let my girls take care of you properly.”

I watched impassively as they all perked up at Dipo’s words, each wanting to be the one to ‘take care of me’. Their eyes had taken on an avaricious glint since Dipo had introduced me. My Timberlands, Ralph Lauren polo shirt, and Armani jeans screamed style, and I knew I wore it all well. Also, not to blow my own trumpet, I knew I was probably far better looking than the clients these girls were used to. But smoking weed and having random sex with girls who I strongly suspected were underage was not my scene. It was at times like this that I wondered what drove young girls to sleep with men old enough to be their fathers. It definitely wasn’t because the men in question were handsome. In fact, Dipo was what my friends and I would describe as plain ugly. Maybe that was why he hid behind the cameras, I thought slyly.

When I had first seen him, I thought his head was too small for his large body. I had met him multiple times now and my opinion had not changed. In fact, his body looked disproportionate in several ways, as though the Creator had been distracted when forming him; eyes too big and round for such a small head, a crooked nose that made me wonder just how many times it had been broken, and a mouth that was curled in a perpetual sneer.

“I’m sorry,” I said, realizing that everyone in the room was looking at me expectantly. I was trying to infuse the right mix of politeness and firmness into my voice. “Thanks for the offer but I have to decline.”

“Well, you can’t be tainting your royal blood with these local ashewos (prostitutes). The high-class escorts are more to your taste, eh? I totally understand,” he retorted haughtily. He swallowed another morsel of food and winked at me like we had just shared a secret filthy joke or something. His statement irritated me further and I gave him a look of distaste.

“I’ll be outside,” I said quietly and headed for the door.

I had had enough. It seemed the rumors were true after all, I thought as I took in a gulp of fresh air and let the sun warm my face. Dipo had proven without a doubt that talent, no matter how great, was a poor substitute for character.




Author Bio:
Two West-African queens,
lovers of jollof and privy to gist,
join forces to shake things up.







XBTBanner1

24 November, 2019

#CoverReveal :: The Pearl of Immortality by @nishichandermun

~ Cover Reveal ~
The Pearl of Immortality
by Nishi Chandermun




A world exists that is dominated by the forces of Light and Dark magic. A world where The Sands of Time comes to life, a unique and compelling fantasy.

Xerxes discovers an ancient golden Lamp in a shop of magical artefacts and his simple life is immediately altered, propelling him into a brand-new world inhabited by powerful alien races.

On this strange and distant planet, a world so unlike Earth, Xerxes soon discovers his new identity, one that names him Dragonheart.

Presented with his ancient dragon of more than five thousand years old, a dragon with indescribable magical abilities, he is compelled to accept his destiny as Dragon Rider. A destiny that drives him into the heart of threats shadowed over by the evil Naga race.

Can Xerxes shoulder the responsibilities of a true Dragonheart? When the significance of the Lamp comes to the fore, it becomes evident that the fate of the planet lies entirely in his strength.


About the Author:
I was born and raised in the city of Durban, one of the sunniest places of South Africa, where I live with my husband and three kids. However, home away from home is the magnificent Cape Town, a serene laidback city where the heart and spirit of the ancient Table Mountain beckons one to return again and again.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Law degree, cum laude and went on to study psychology thereafter, both careers which held my avid interest. However, my greatest passion was always in writing, something I have been doing for as long as I can recall. So, it’s no wonder that I finally surrendered all else to become a professional writer.

I have previously written middle grade fiction as well as illustrated books for little children. The Sands of Time series is my first venture for young adults, a project that I have been arduously researching and working on for several years. If there’s a single belief I live by, it would be this:

Masterpieces are not created overnight. All that is truly remarkable requires a magical moment of growth.




22 November, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - The Modern Thriller by @sourabhm_ofcl


*** Special Feature - November 2019 ***


About the Author:


Sourabh is the author of two psychological thriller novels The Colours of Passion: Unravelling Dark Secrets behind the Limelight (Readomania) and  In the Shadows of Death: A Detective Agni Mitra Thriller (Srishti Publishers and Distributors); Romance Shorts, a collection of dark-romance short stories; a 2-part series Beyond 22 Yards (Srishti Publishers and Distributors) on stories of Love and Crime from the world of cricket and a 7-part series of short stories titled It’s All About Love (Srishti Publishers and Distributors). The titles in the series are The Gift, The Cookery Show and a Love Story, A Special Day, Masks, An Autumn Turmoil, The Hunt, The Death Wish.

A keen observer of human behaviour and cultural diversities, Sourabh loves travelling and has travelled widely across five continents. An avid reader of fiction, Sourabh is equally passionate about photography, movies and music.



Contact the Author:


The Modern Thriller:

A story for me is also a vehicle to talk about issues that matter to me. In my first novel “In the Shadows of Death”, I spoke about several topics that are usually considered ‘taboo’ and are best pushed under dusty carpets. I talked about the sexual harassment of the male child in the supposedly secure confines of home. I talked about the politics of sexual exploitation and sexual favours, as well as the ‘reverse’ sexual harassment of men at the workplace. I painted a stark picture of adultery and infidelity rampant in the modern urban society with changing ways of life and tried to find plausible causes without being judgemental.

My second novel “The Colours of Passion” was about alternate sexuality, and how social taboos drive an individual down the murky path of crime - an issue that continues to fuel passionate debates across the world, especially in India.

Thrillers these days are rarely about stolen antique or rare jewels. Thrillers today are more about human psychology. They are about the complicated dynamics of human relationships. They reflect the society and the times we live in. And that is what draws me to a thriller as a reader.

Today, we are consuming crime stories from all quarters – TV, news, movies, the internet. And it is probably getting harder and harder for the mystery writer to conjure an unexpected ending. There is so much of true crime we are reading about and watching around us that it is often difficult to deliver jaw-dropping twists. Also, readers like me who read lots of crime books every year get used to spotting hints and clues in the narrative as they read along. 

Therefore, for me, when I read a thriller today, whether I was kept guessing about the identity of the antagonist till the last page, is no longer the most important thing. What I look for in a modern thriller is how we get there, how deep we go into the psyche of the characters. I want the narrative to be intriguing and satisfying to the extent where I feel it is all real, where I can relate to the characters and everything that is happening to them. These days, that is primarily the expectation I have from a thriller. 



About the Book:


Vikram Oberoi is found dead in his penthouse. A few hours ago, his involvement in a sex scandal in NexGen Technologies made headlines across the world.

Who is behind the sinister conspiracy that destroyed Vikram Oberoi, the philandering India Head of NexGen? Rivals within and outside the firm? One of his many jilted lovers or the miffed wife? A mysterious conspirator laying out honey traps to sabotage his plans? Or, is it the ghost of a sinful past that continues to haunt the Oberois? 

The Sinners is a fast-paced thriller with a shocking twist that unravels against the backdrop of corporate warfare, illicit relationships and ruthless seduction games.





Book Links:

Giveaway:
1 Paperback Copy of The Sinners
1 Paperback Copy of The Colours of Passion

a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 November, 2019

#BookReview :: The Treasure Syndicate by @jatinkuberkar

Check out the book on Amazon

Well, who doesn’t like a treasure hunt story? For me, most of the times it is about the chase and the adventure of it all that makes it interesting. The value of the treasure rarely make any difference, after all, I am not going to get a cut, am I?

Jatin kuberkar tells us the story of a curse put on a King which resulted in assigning a guardian and forming of a group which is, now in the modern days, known as The Treasure Syndicate. Acharya Neelkanth Agnihotri is the current Guardian of The Treasure Syndicate and he has a team who help him hunt for hidden treasures. Jabbar, Kumar, Srikanth and Mahesh are the four other players in the story who each play their parts to add different flavours and bring a form to the overall plot.

What I loved the most about the book was the plot and the pace of the book. The author has added a little bit of mythology to give a certain depth to the plot and while this certainly isn’t a mytho-fiction in any way, the little details and pieces of information does help give the plot a dimension to it that just adds to the readers experience of the adventure that lies in the pages of this book. The narrative pace also helps keep the readers engaged throughout as there is always something ‘happening’ to keep them curious and reading. The characters in the book are interesting too. While I found the Acharya to be most interesting of them all, their varied personalities sometimes caused friction and sometimes complemented each other.  The author’s unpretentious language and simple narrative is a plus as it makes it very easy to get into the story and into the lives of these characters.

The book has enough adventure to make it a lively read and with a few red herrings thrown in the thrills just add to the experience. It turned out to be a ‘quick’ (well, I could not put it down and finished in one sitting) read that had my attention from the first page to the last word.



Review Copy received from the Author