23 March, 2019

#GuestPost :: How do You...? by Victoria Landis

About the Author:
Victoria Landis is a professional writer, editor, and artist. A 16-yr member, and former board member, of Mystery Writers of America, she Co-Chaired the SleuthFest Writers Conference from 2015-2018.

She's taught at SleuthFest, the Authors Academy at Murder on the Beach, and the Alvin Sherman Library at Nova Southeastern.

Her newest novel, Jordan, is a thriller with a magical realism/paranormal element and a cautionary tale of human nature and how it hasn’t changed in thousands of years.

Her suspense novel, Blinke It Away, set on Oahu—where she lived for twelve years—was chosen as a Reviewer's Pick on BookRooster.com.

Her 2nd novel, Alias: Mitzi & Mack, is a humorous crime dramedy set in South Florida, in the fictional town of West Sago Beach.

She's written a humor column since 2008, and her latest title is A Little Bit Sideways, a compilation of humorous essays about life.

As an artist, along with special effects and canvas painting, she does graphics and especially loves designing book covers.

Her three adult sons are her best accomplishment and make her so proud she could burst. She lives in Key Largo where she's working on her next novel while staring at gorgeous sunsets on Florida Bay from the martini deck.

Find more information about her and her books, including ‘character interviews’, on her website www.VictoriaLandis.com

Follow her on:
Facebook * Instagram * Twitter

HOW DO YOU . . . ?

At my book events and workshops, people ask certain questions more than others. One of the most common is, “How do you come up with your ideas?” Some have confessed, as they stare blank-faced at me, that they have zero story or book ideas. They love to read someone else’s, but come up with nothing if tasked to try it themselves.

I found that as surprising as they find my endless supply of stories to tell—until I stopped to think about it.

First, let me allay the fears of those who think they have no ideas. They do, they just don’t know it yet. Storytelling is as old and natural as humankind. It all starts with what if?

Once the brain begins engaging in the world of what if, the old and crusty—unused for eons—gears complain and wheeze as they crank to life. The occupant of said brain declares that they are really trying, but nothing’s coming. And they give up. Shut down the machine before the gears have even warmed to the mission.

But that’s not how it works. Think about it. That’s not how learning to do anything works.

Do you play an instrument? How foreign did it feel to your mind and your fingers the first time you attempted a few notes? Was it comfortable? Probably not.

What about learning to dance? In Dirty Dancing, remember Jennifer Grey rapidly stamping her feet in furious frustration while trying to keep up with Patrick Swayze?

For that matter, you’ll recall that even learning to read happened one letter, one word, and one sentence at a time.

So it is with letting your creative side have a little fun. You may not have time for it right now. Lord knows, I didn’t for many years. I loved writing as a kid, but it went away through my young adulthood. There were too many other things that needed my attention, not the least of which was single motherhood. If you’re concentrating on bringing your children up to be productive, happy adults—that alone is an all-consuming task—much less adding a full-time job to it all. A brain can only concentrate on so much at one time and do it competently.

I began to take writing seriously when I was in my forties. The kids were older, and I was able to spend some time learning. At first, my brain did the cranky gear thing, too. The more I brainstormed and wrote over time, the more freely the ideas came.

Now, I’m bombarded with ideas. I keep lists of the titles and ideas that come at me constantly. I have the absolute best book titles, at least fifty of them, waiting for me to assign them a story. Unfortunately—or actually, quite fortunately—I still have a day job (I do editing and graphic design), and I’m not able to write my novels as fast as I’d like.

Do not despair if you’d like to contribute your unique slant on life to the universe of stories out there, but can’t seem to move it along. One thing I know for sure is—when a person really wants something, they will make it happen—sooner or later.

Some advice:

1.      Understand that your first one or two, or possibly more, manuscripts will be god awful. It/they will not be the new messiah you will believe they are at first. They will be the proverbial ones you hear authors talk about—the ones that live in the bottom desk drawer, never to see the light of day.

2.      Buy and read the writing advice books by good authors. Go to workshops and seminars, and believe the experienced people when they tell you basics like don’t open with the weather or a dream, get rid of ly adverbs, etc., etc., etc.

3.      Practice, practice, practice. Write, write more, then write more.

Until you’re ready for all that, we love that you read our books. Oh . . . and leave a review on the various reading/book sites, please? You have no idea how much that helps us!


Thank you.


About the Book:
When Petra Simmons and her brother, Andy, help a seemingly homeless woman, it immediately changes their lives forever. Within days, it's clear the woman, Jordan Crissman, possesses an amazing ability - perhaps the most miraculous ability of all.

They realize in the current world of viral social media, they must be careful. How best to employ the miracle without causing havoc? They plot a strategy. Despite their plans, word gets out too fast, and the world comes running - invading and overwhelming South Florida - along with serious danger.

Television talking heads pontificate. Pundits opine. Some claim she's a messiah. Others insist she's the devil. Massive crowds gather, demanding to see Jordan. Everyone wants her. There seems to be nowhere to hide. Horrible rumors take hold. Protest groups march and riot. Mass hysteria reigns - and people are dying.


Buy Link for Jordan


22 March, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - Top five fictional characters by Mehak Daleh


*** Special Feature - March 2019 ***


About the Book:

What happens when the dead come back and can’t let go?

A catastrophe occurs in what was meant to be a fun-filled day for Nina and Alisha. Minutes ago, they were on the swings in the Rose Garden and now, Alisha is standing alone, while the help runs frantically. Her sister, Nina, has disappeared, never to be found again.
But the bond between them withstands even death. Nina’s ghost circles the house.
Is she here just to comfort her now lonely and distraught sister or is she pointing the way to unravel the mystery of her disappearance? the questions remain unanswered until six years later.
Another ghost is reaching out to Alisha from the beyond, a ghost only she can see and she has no idea why.
Battling the horror, the blood and the nightmares that follow her in this macabre turn of events, will Alisha be able to emerge from the whirlpool that the other side is trying to drown her in?



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Top five fictional characters

Pip from Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations, for being so confused and divided and real.
The Clown from IT by Stephen King for being absolutely scary and wild and revolting.
Yevgeny Onegin by Alexander Pushkin, again, for being flawed and fallible, yet oddly charming.
Heidi by Johanna Spyri, for being the absolutely lovely essence of childhood.
Katie Scarlett O’Hara Hamilton from Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell, for her ability to move on.



About the Author:

Mehak Daleh lives and works out of Chandigarh. She started working on ‘Roses’ on a cold December day in 2012, giving in to an image of little girls walking to a graveyard which had been stuck in her head for months. This image became the centre around which the manuscript grew.
Mehak relishes dark folklore and mythology along with contemporary fiction. Her stories, born where the everyday meets the extraordinary, are usually set in the hills where she grew up, and where she developed a penchant for the mysterious and macabre.
And the Roses Bled is her debut novel, and she is currently working on her subsequent manuscripts.



Connect with the Author:
Twitter * Instagram


Giveaway:
Two lucky Indian Residents can win a paperback copy each of And the Roses Bled
a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 March, 2019

Challenging Myself to Blog Daily with a Blogging Challenge in April 2019


I have received quite few concerned messages in the last few months from the people who follow my blog on a regular basis. Why you ask?

Well, I have been really lagging behind on reviewing and blogging in the last few months. Quite a few factors had contributed to my disenchantment with the blogging world. But I think it is high time that I move on from all the negativity that it brought on because end of the day, the book blogging world has given me immense pleasure, amazing experiences and a bunch of friends that I am really thankful for.

As a way of easing myself into a schedule for my blog, I had signed up for Blogchatter's Basic Blogging Course back in January. Completing A to Z Challenge in April is a part of the course. So, of course I have to do it and since I am doing it for Blogchatter, I thought why not sign up for the original A to Z challenge as well?



 

The concept of A to Z Challenge is to publish a post everyday, except on Sundays. So, 26 posts in total written based on a particular theme (to be chosen by individual blogger) and in the chronological order of A to Z.

Have you heard of the A to Z Challenge before? Have you participated in this challenge before?  You can learn more about the challenge HERE 


The first step of the challenge is to decide on a theme and do a reveal post.


 

My theme for the challenge is... Well, it's Books! What else am I going to blog about? ūüėú The books that I am going to review/feature through the challenge are either review copies that I have read but been procrastinating when it came to reviewing them, or they are the books that I finally knock off my very long TBR.

For this theme reveal though, I decided to go one step further. As a bookworm, I realise that not every book is according to everyone's reading preferences. April is going to be a busy month with all the reading, writing and blog hopping - so I have already chalked up my A to Z books and I am listing them here so that you can decide beforehand about which days you want to drop by my blog. 

Take a look:






Now, do not forget to drop by in April and leave a few encouraging words or your thoughts on the book of the day!















19 March, 2019

#BookReview :: And the Roses Bled by Mehak Daleh


What happens when the dead come back and can’t let go?
A catastrophe occurs in what was meant to be a fun-filled day for Nina and Alisha. Minutes ago, they were on the swings in the Rose Garden and now, Alisha is standing alone, while the help runs frantically. Her sister, Nina, has disappeared, never to be found again.
But the bond between them withstands even death. Nina’s ghost circles the house.
Is she here just to comfort her now lonely and distraught sister or is she pointing the way to unravel the mystery of her disappearance? the questions remain unanswered until six years later.
Another ghost is reaching out to Alisha from the beyond, a ghost only she can see and she has no idea why.
Battling the horror, the blood and the nightmares that follow her in this macabre turn of events, will Alisha be able to emerge from the whirlpool that the other side is trying to drown her in?


Goodreads * Amazon

It had been a while that I had read a horror story and as such I jumped at the chance to read and review this book.

It was supposed to be a simple fun filled day for sisters Alisha and Nina. Yet it turned into a black day for Alisha as Nina disappeared mysteriously only never to be found again. Escaping into the life of a boarding school was supposed to bring discipline and structure to Alisha’s upside down life, but when you lose a twin who was your partner-in-crime, how do you go back to ‘normal’? Are the eerie happenings and weird dreams that follow Alisha just her imagination and her defense mechanism at work or is there something more?

I quite enjoyed the plot which had an element of mystery about it and it was all the incentive that a mystery buff like me needed. What really happened to Nina? And would the perpetrator ever be caught? Questions like these kept me immersed in the story. Elements loss, of bond between twins or bond between sisters, friendships and the ever curious minds of kids was peppered through the plot. The plot was complimented by the narrative style and language used by the author. Simple yet dramatic just at the right moments. The details of the graveyard will stick with me for a while.

The author clearly had the plot layered well. However, I found the fact that not all the pieces of information provided were relevant. It bothered me a bit in the end as I was considering everything as relevant only to find out that they were not. If some of them had been used as red herrings, it would have been a different matter. They were just irrelevant and could easily have been excluded.

Overall, the book sure made for an interesting and entertaining read. I would recommend it to people who are spooked easily as it may be a bit too simple for hardcore horror lovers.


Review Copy received from Fingerprint Publishing


15 March, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - If I could change three things in the world… by Mehak Daleh


*** Special Feature - March 2019 ***


About the Book:

What happens when the dead come back and can’t let go?

A catastrophe occurs in what was meant to be a fun-filled day for Nina and Alisha. Minutes ago, they were on the swings in the Rose Garden and now, Alisha is standing alone, while the help runs frantically. Her sister, Nina, has disappeared, never to be found again.
But the bond between them withstands even death. Nina’s ghost circles the house.
Is she here just to comfort her now lonely and distraught sister or is she pointing the way to unravel the mystery of her disappearance? the questions remain unanswered until six years later.
Another ghost is reaching out to Alisha from the beyond, a ghost only she can see and she has no idea why.
Battling the horror, the blood and the nightmares that follow her in this macabre turn of events, will Alisha be able to emerge from the whirlpool that the other side is trying to drown her in?



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

If I could change three things in the world…

The first would definitely be terrorism for obvious reasons. That kind of mindless violence just should not exist. There can be no place for it in a sane world. So, if somehow I could change it, I would.

The second thing I would like to change is violence against children. This might be the second point, but to me it is as important as the first. Childhood is such a fragile state. Even the slightest imbalances introduced into a person’s childhood can ruin their life forever, and consequently the future of humanity itself. There are so many revolting crimes against children committed on an everyday basis. The papers are chock full of them, so much so, that it is difficult now to read a paper first thing in the morning without feeling utterly disturbed. So, this must change. Our children should be safe.

Finally, the third thing. If I could, I would make it mandatory for everyone to reserve one hour for reading. I would wish for reading to become an essential element of everyone’s lives, especially that of children.


About the Author:

Mehak Daleh lives and works out of Chandigarh. She started working on ‘Roses’ on a cold December day in 2012, giving in to an image of little girls walking to a graveyard which had been stuck in her head for months. This image became the centre around which the manuscript grew.
Mehak relishes dark folklore and mythology along with contemporary fiction. Her stories, born where the everyday meets the extraordinary, are usually set in the hills where she grew up, and where she developed a penchant for the mysterious and macabre.
And the Roses Bled is her debut novel, and she is currently working on her subsequent manuscripts.



Connect with the Author:
Twitter * Instagram


Giveaway:
Two lucky Indian Residents can win a paperback copy each of And the Roses Bled
a Rafflecopter giveaway

11 March, 2019

#BookBlitz :: WEST BEGG by Mari.Reiza

~ Book Blitz ~
WEST BEGG by Mari.Reiza
Humour / Satire

About the Book:
A hilarious yet dark novel on how power, and the lack of it, shapes people. 

Luca’s job is being a punch bag, a tea towel, a toilet bowl, to the undeniable and unbreakable king of egg power proud of averaging two hundred flights a year to visit chicken markets around the world. 

Anna moved to Catania to work for caper queen Madame Sicily, fulfilling varied tasks from picking up C√©line swimwear before it hits the runways to recovering badly parked Lamborghinis. 
La Revolu√ß√£o dreams through buildings but builds parking spaces, when she’s not helping launder money for her boss’s dad’s dodgy charities. 
And finally, Carolina is out to conspire with Paquita who met their boss the German in a red lit booth, to understand why the man has to drain the passion out of everything. Their fates will inevitably collide. The question is, will their bosses get what they deserve? 

Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon


The setting:
The headquarters of a poultry business in northern Italy. A family led cucunci-drinks company in Catania. A rail transport pressure-group based in Brussels. A bogus architectural project at a UNESCO World Heritage site in a heavenly island off the Americas. A doomed working village in a made-up dodgy country called Altania and a palatial villa, not too far from it, extravagant in all the wrong places, where it’ll all go BOOM!

Meet Luca
He works in poultry equipment for the most ruthless of the Macco brothers who’s not a scared chicken but a proud cockerel, a real paratrooper. ‘I want to eat them,’ Luca constantly listens to his boss shout about their competition, with eyes like a slot machine hitting the jackpot. He’s expected to nod. Also when his master complains of enemies de-compensating him, even if the man would have to be compensated for it to hold true; when he claims to love his wife effusively despite rumours he keeps a mistress ready at his office in Altania. And through Luca’s loyalty he remains but cannon fodder to his employer, expendable in the face of enemy fire. Constant long business trips leave him with colds from the plane’s air conditioning, and hangovers from the number of gin and tonics he drinks in order to stand hours in his tiny seat. And what of his plane fear? When he thinks of it he just takes another Valium. He has no choice as his own uncle refused him a job in his own company. After that he had told himself he would never come back to Italy, he would never return to his small town, would never work for a family business... Never say never.

Meet Anna
She sticks out like a sore thumb on her bike her red curls to the wind, racing through the streets of Catania running deviant errands for Madame Sicily, the queen of cucunci; her company deals in a special type of caper and hit it rolling with a refreshing carbonated drink a few years back. If Madame wants something she calls Anna and screams at her. And nothing ever starts or stops unless Madame wants it, then it does so very quickly. But something is going on in the company, something big: these are uncertain times. ‘Why am I here? Where am I heading?’ Anna is too busy to stop and think, even if admittedly it’s a fake busy, busy doing stupid things. ‘Why do I work for this mad woman?’ she asks herself. She had followed her husband to Sicily so he could fulfill his dream toying with Indian technology to produce electric cars at a disused Fiat plant outside Palermo, only for her to end on the opposite side of the island. At least, from the rooftop of her little terrace she can see the volcano.

Meet La Revolução
She’s a dreamer, dreams through buildings. For her, it’s all about people. She wants to make buildings that save people. She wants a new world of new buildings. Until she accepts work at a famous studio in Geneva, where her first project is two hundred and fifty garage units, in the underground of a luxury development by the lake. After a small amount of time she has given up. Then she reads about Queen Tinea Foundation; ‘Our yacht Live the Dream will anchor in Fernando for the next three years. We aim to preserve one of the most important eco-regions of our planet.’ She’s in. But when she arrives the boat is empty, the crew have oddly taken over the best hotel in the island which belongs to the father of one of the foundation partners. This is when she first meets Iraj√°, which means beehive, and Iraj√° baptizes her La Revolu√ß√£o, calling for a revolution.

Meet Carolina
She’s crying on Paquita’s shoulders, can’t face seeing him again and it’s only Monday. Paquita’s the one who really knows him. He’s a viking, with a raw face like a bad cut of meat, so colourless you would think he lives in a cave. German. Lives to work. ‘Ruthless on the outside but miserable in the inside,’ according to Paquita. Carolina’s his Communications Officer. Her job seemed interesting because it came at a vulnerable time, when she suddenly acquired a surprising number of black fillings in her mouth and ringings in her ears, when her girls were urging her to swap her Mazda, with moss growing on the windows, a thorough cover of dog hair on the seats and a floor of crisp packets. ‘I should have realized we would never get on, him and I,’ she knows now.


About the Author:

Mari.Reiza was born in Madrid in 1973. She studied at Oxford University and worked as an investment research writer and management consultant for twenty years in London, before becoming an indie fiction writer. Also by her, Inconceivable Tales, Death in Pisa, Sour Pricks, A Pack of Wolves, STUP, Mum, Watch Me Have Fun!, Marmotte’s Journey, West bEgg, PHYSICAL, Room 11, Triple Bagger, Opera and the Retreat, all available on Amazon.



Author Links:
Twitter * Instagram





08 March, 2019

#SpecialFeature :: Read an #Excerpt from And the Roses Bled by Mehak Daleh


*** Special Feature - March 2019 ***


About the Book:

What happens when the dead come back and can’t let go?

A catastrophe occurs in what was meant to be a fun-filled day for Nina and Alisha. Minutes ago, they were on the swings in the Rose Garden and now, Alisha is standing alone, while the help runs frantically. Her sister, Nina, has disappeared, never to be found again.
But the bond between them withstands even death. Nina’s ghost circles the house.
Is she here just to comfort her now lonely and distraught sister or is she pointing the way to unravel the mystery of her disappearance? the questions remain unanswered until six years later.
Another ghost is reaching out to Alisha from the beyond, a ghost only she can see and she has no idea why.
Battling the horror, the blood and the nightmares that follow her in this macabre turn of events, will Alisha be able to emerge from the whirlpool that the other side is trying to drown her in?



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Read an Excerpt:

We went on like that for a few more minutes when I began to feel the colour of light change around me, as if I were watching everything through a sepia-tinted filter. I looked at the other three, but they were busy with their chatter. They didn’t seem to notice. Their voices were becoming distant, as if I was slowly entering some soundproofed area. The air began to get cold and the little hair on the back of my neck stood to attention. I swear I saw my breath fog the air around me. It was cold. I quietly looked around myself; nothing. As I walked a little away from my friends, their chitter-chatter became mute, unblocking my senses. I scanned the area around me again.

Then I saw it. I was now near the thicket of pines and chestnuts that made a rough boundary around the graveyard. The trees started approximately ten metres from where I stood. There, I saw a girl slowly come out from behind a tree trunk.

Her drenched dark hair was hanging limply around her tiny brown face—just like I had seen Nina’s. But this wasn’t Nina—not that I could clearly make out any features, but instinctively I knew it wasn’t her. She looked vaguely familiar, but she wasn’t my sister. That dark fluid was dripping from her hair onto her shoulders, one of which was at an odd angle, as if it was dislocated. I wondered if it was water or something else. I couldn’t make out.
Blood!” a whisper rose up in my mind like mist from a river.
It’s blood!
She wore a tattered blue school tunic that came up to her scraped knees. The flesh of those knees looked really raw. There were dark brown stains on what was left of the dress. A tear in the fabric showed a part of her thigh. A small chunk of flesh was missing from it. She wore only one grimy black shoe. She stared at me for what felt like eternity, and then took two steps forward and just stood there.

I watched her eyes change. Even from that distance, I saw it as if we were nose to nose. Her pupils expanded abnormally, eating away the brown irises and the white of the eye, till everything was black and hollow. I felt I could see into her brains, right to the back of her skull, through those freaky black holes. Only, there was no end to it, there was no back of the skull. What I saw in there can only be described as an endless, dimly lit corridor to nowhere, lined with doors inaccessible to me—doors that held her memories safe, locked up in their chambers to gather dust while everything else that was ‘her’ decayed. That passage went on and on and on, till the person walking through it went insane.

I was shivering; my flesh erupted in goosebumps. I had a strong feeling my bladder was going to let go. Thankfully, it held and the feeling passed. My classmates wouldn’t have let me live through it if that had happened.

Clap! Clap! Two sharp noises made me snap out of what most people would call a hallucination. It wasn’t that, I assure you. I tried to convince myself it was a waking dream, tried to reason that since I was particularly sensitive to death since a very early age, perhaps my overactive mind had conjured up things in tandem with what had become my nature. But I know better. I saw the girl.


About the Author:

Mehak Daleh lives and works out of Chandigarh. She started working on ‘Roses’ on a cold December day in 2012, giving in to an image of little girls walking to a graveyard which had been stuck in her head for months. This image became the centre around which the manuscript grew.
Mehak relishes dark folklore and mythology along with contemporary fiction. Her stories, born where the everyday meets the extraordinary, are usually set in the hills where she grew up, and where she developed a penchant for the mysterious and macabre.
And the Roses Bled is her debut novel, and she is currently working on her subsequent manuscripts.



Connect with the Author:
Twitter * Instagram


Giveaway:
Two lucky Indian Residents can win a paperback copy each of And the Roses Bled
a Rafflecopter giveaway

06 March, 2019

#BookReview :: The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm: Eragon (Tales from Alaga√ęsia #1) by Christopher Paolini

A wanderer and a cursed child. Spells and magic. And dragons, of course.

Welcome back to the world of Alaga√ęsia. It’s been a year since Eragon departed Alaga√ęsia in search of the perfect home to train a new generation of Dragon Riders. Now he is struggling with an endless sea of tasks: constructing a vast dragonhold, wrangling with suppliers, guarding dragon eggs, and dealing with belligerent Urgals and haughty elves. Then a vision from the Eldunar√≠, unexpected visitors, and an exciting Urgal legend offer a much-needed distraction and a new perspective. This volume features three original stories set in Alaga√ęsia, interspersed with scenes from Eragon’s own unfolding adventure. Included is an excerpt from the memoir of the unforgettable witch and fortune-teller Angela the herbalist . . . penned by Angela Paolini, the inspiration for the character, herself! Relish the incomparable imagination of Christopher Paolini in this thrilling new collection of stories based in the world of the Inheritance Cycle.


Goodreads * Amazon

Okay, don’t hate me… but I have not read The Inheritance Cycle series. I know! How can a fantasy aficionado not have read it? I have no explanation other than that it just hasn’t happened yet. I do plan to pick it up someday though. So, when I heard that this book can be read without having read the series, I decided to give it a go to get a taste of the world that The Inheritance Cycle is set in and also to get an idea of what to expect from the series when I start it.

The book is divided into three parts – The Fork, the Witch and the Worm.

The fork is the story of Murtagh and Essie, set in a small town. Eragon is now away from Alagaesia to find a new home for the dragon riders, but he misses his life and the action. So, the Eldunar√≠ shows him Murtagh’s life and ‘adventures’ that serve as a lesson to not only little Essie but also for Eragon. The witch is the story of Angela and Elva. It is written by Angela Paolini, who apparently was the inspiration behind the character of the same name in Inheritance Cylce. For me this was a really interesting one as the story read like a memoir. I do not know how Christopher Paolini has sketched Angela’s character, but I did love reading Angela Paolini’s sketch of the character she inspired into life. The worm was also a very interesting read. It is the story of Ilgra, an Urgal and her long fight against worm of a dragon. 

All the three stories bring forth a lesson to be learnt by Eragon and maybe even by the readers. I absolutely loved Eragon, Murtagh and Angela. I may just pick up this sooner because of the character of Angela alone. She is a firecracker of a character and I hope she is the same in the series. I also loved the glimpses of the world setting I got through this book. It was indeed interesting and I found the Urgal species to be something I would like to know more about.

For those who are already fans of The Inheritance Cycle, this should be an interesting addition to the stories you already know. For those of you who are wondering whether or not to read the original series, give this book a chance before your make up your mind.

Review Copy received from Penguin Random House