22 June, 2018

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - Incoming Baby, Outgoing Marriage by Richa Mukherjee



*** Special Feature - June 2018 ***


About the Book:

Tara is living a blessed life in the maximum city with her husband Abhimanyu, the love of her life. At the pinnacle of her career, she is the apple of her parents’ eyes and hasn’t spotted a wrinkle yet – so far, the 30s are looking great!
Nothing fazes Tara – not a foul-mouthed best friend or a food-burning arch-nemesis in the form of her maid – not even a landlady who chats with ghosts.
And then, Tara discovers that she’s pregnant, and suddenly, all that well-honed composure crumbles. It doesn’t help that she’s got an equally jittery (if supportive) husband by her side. Now, Tara must face her anxieties about parenthood as she navigates friendships, marriage and career, all the while dealing with the fact that her body and mind are steadily feeling like they belong to someone else.
An irreverent, honest and funny journey down the road – potholes and all – to (accidental) parenthood!



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Incoming Baby, Outgoing Marriage

When my husband and I decided to take our first vacation without our daughter, about a year old then, we were quickly labeled and transferred into the ‘bad parents’ club. Amidst the righteous cacophony of “Your child will be scarred for life” and “What if she keeps crying for you” to the simplest go to “How can you even think about doing something so selfish?” the predominant theme was that once children come into the picture or even before they arrive really, two loving individuals must be reduced to robot like baby needs redressal forums, without thoughts and feelings of their own!

It has always puzzled me why humans are such suckers for punishment. Imagine this, knowing that a tiny little food and poop machine is about to arrive and take over your entire lives, wouldn’t you try and have that much more fun, let your hair down all the time? I’ve seen parents calm down to some extent after a child has arrived, in some way, surrendering to fate, but its the pregnancy phase when all hell breaks lose. The neurosis is entirely geared around keeping the oven and the bun (a.k.a mother and baby) safe from the world and even the poor father. I remember being told not to go for movies, or long drives , or stay up late, or travel, essentially everything my husband and I loved to do. My pet hate was being told “Getting CLOSE is not a good idea right now? Wait till the baby is born.” Really? The said baby would be nowhere in the picture had we not gotten extremely CLOSE to begin with.

Tara Sharma, the protagonist, is a woman from the tribe of moderation. Not only does she think a baby shouldn’t change her relationship with Abhimanyu, in fact she does everything she can to ensure that doesn’t happen. Poor fathers-to-be have had it being vilified as hormone wary, diaper phobic dolts. I think they are infinitely more stable than that. And whether you’re in your eight month or handling your eight diaper of the day, there's always time for a kiss and a hug!


About the Author:


Richa’s life has always been marked with abundance. She grew up with three elder sisters, lived in eight cities across India, and went from being a B Com graduate who wanted to pursue dance (and eradicate poverty), to a journalist, and then landed up in an advertising agency. The only constant was that she had a blast through all of it. Now, she wants to spend the rest of her life observing people, spinning yarns and writing books. Every pocket she owns is stuffed with scraps of paper scribbled with ideas and stories. This is Richa's debut novel.




Contact the Author:
Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

Giveaway:
Paperback Copies of I Didn't Expect to be Expecting & Harper Collins Badges

a Rafflecopter giveaway

20 June, 2018

#BookBlitz :: Enchanted Waves (The Forsaken #6) by Ciara Lake

About the Book:
Tabitha Lock's mundane life changes when her future walks out of the sea into her arms.

Attorney Tabitha Lock has put her career before everything, including her love life. Exhausted from too many late nights, early mornings, and endless days spent in court, Tabitha is at the end of her rope. Add to that the sensual dreams and voices that haunt her sleep, and she's driven to the edge of her sanity.

Jax Aquila, Mer prince and son of Poseidon, is ordered to locate a mortal female in the twenty-first century. Although this woman is unaware of it, she has vampire heritage, but her immortality was forsaken to her due to the sins of her ancestor. Old hatred and prejudice toward vampires push Jax toward pursing his own agenda and avoiding his assigned task.

When Jax meets Tabitha, he has no idea this enticing woman is the one he was sent to find. The magic of their attraction drives him to pursue the beautiful woman. When he discovers the truth, can he accept Tabitha for what she is? And can Tabitha accept herself? As they struggle with the issues at hand, an ancient evil stirs, waiting in the darkness to reclaim their lost position among the immortals. When the evil ones make their move and Tabitha's life hangs in the balance can Jax find her in time, or will she be lost to him forever?

Book Links:

Read an Excerpt:

Calypso's breasts heaved with each breath she took beneath the supple black leather. Stretching out beyond the full-length windows, lightning ripped through the night sky as Calypso opened the french doors and stepped out onto the patio. The subtle glide of leather-overheated flesh sent shards of heat through her.

A fine shiver raced over her body and she gasped. Somewhere out there he waited…the culmination of all her lust. From behind her the sound of Angrail and his mate's passion could be heard and it fired her own. Long denied, her lust stirred, slithering through her body like some beast she longed to kill.

She closed her eyes, the image playing across her mind… Sweat slicked skin heaved with each swing of a massive blade. Thin, black lines danced across his chest, swirling down into the curve of a hip, the bulge of his shaft behind his pants teasing her. Muscles bunched and flexed with each step, each blow. Powerful, deadly, his essence called to her, seduced her with its warmth and need.

Calypso stepped to the edge of the balcony and peered over the ornate banister. Beneath her the roaring of the falls drifted upward in a silvery cloud of noise and mist.

She glanced over her shoulder, her fists clenching with emotion. Centuries of service, of loyalty, had been rewarded with freedom, yet she didn't yearn for such a gift. Nay, she yearned for what was beyond her. Angrail was content, he was loved, and out of her grasp. Accepting it hadn't come easy, long nights of bitter envy and tears had come before she'd realized it was necessary.

Come to me. As soft as the wind playing with her braid, the whisper slipped through the chinks in her armor and shot straight to her heart.

With a soft sigh, Calypso hopped onto the banister and inhaled a breath. Arms outstretched, she stepped into mid-air, years of training and skill set in her muscles. Fresh, sweet wind flowed along her body, wrapping her in a warm shawl of familiarity. Without a sound, she landed on the rocks below, her knees folding beneath her as her body coiled in to brace itself.

About the Author:

Welcome to Ciara Lake's World. Meet Gorgeous Werewolves, Vampires, Dragons, Mermaids, Wizards, Witches, Mythological Gods and Goddesses, Mere Mortals And More! Fiction has always been a passion of mine. Creating worlds and developing characters is a great way for me to relieve the stress and strain of my everyday world. In fantasy (paranormal) and sci-fi stories, the author has the unique ability to invent wonderfully exotic places and people. I do that in my books. These fantastic genres provide a limitless ability to be creative and inventive. My stories provide an escape into a special world filled with unique and otherworldly things. And there is always a happy ending.


Contact the Author:


15 June, 2018

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - Humour is the best Weapon by Richa Mukherjee



*** Special Feature - June 2018 ***


About the Book:

Tara is living a blessed life in the maximum city with her husband Abhimanyu, the love of her life. At the pinnacle of her career, she is the apple of her parents’ eyes and hasn’t spotted a wrinkle yet – so far, the 30s are looking great!
Nothing fazes Tara – not a foul-mouthed best friend or a food-burning arch-nemesis in the form of her maid – not even a landlady who chats with ghosts.
And then, Tara discovers that she’s pregnant, and suddenly, all that well-honed composure crumbles. It doesn’t help that she’s got an equally jittery (if supportive) husband by her side. Now, Tara must face her anxieties about parenthood as she navigates friendships, marriage and career, all the while dealing with the fact that her body and mind are steadily feeling like they belong to someone else.
An irreverent, honest and funny journey down the road – potholes and all – to (accidental) parenthood!



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Humour is the best weapon

The entire time I was pregnant, I kept checking and inspecting my tummy to really ensure that I had a baby in there and not just an enormous amount of gas. After being steadily fed the entire news feed around what to expect when you’re expecting, I was mentally prepared to start throwing up nonstop like the Merlion in Singapore, eat chutneys and imli like they were going out of fashion and make my husband do the midnight runs to the nearest chocolate dessert shop. Oddly, I was the most well behaved pregnant woman ever! I complain to him now that I should have made more of a nuisance of myself having being told by society and Bollywood that I had a long leash to exploit. 

All advice, instructions and rituals, I’m sure start with the right intentions. Then along the way they are twisted and convoluted and often end up becoming baseless diktats that drive people nuts. And the excitement that popping a baby brings with it from all sections of society is truly remarkable. From making the mother-to-be eat for about a large Baraat ( if you don’t look like a Pehelwan, then you’re not eating enough) to treating them like little delicate China tea sets, to the no-nos of pregnant women can’t work before or after delivering (The child will be scarred for life without the mother around. Ma ka dharm hai bachche  ko sambhalna)!! Each one is more precious than the next.

The book takes on each one of these and other questionable mindsets in a humorous and unconventional way. I wanted to reach out to women and tell them that if they led normal lives while being pregnant, even went a head and had fun during their pregnancy, the earth would still rotate on its axis and that their child would still be born without any major personality issues. Humour is the best weapon with which fear can be neutralised, and this book is here to tell them to relax, bring out the earplugs and enjoy the ride!

About the Author:


Richa’s life has always been marked with abundance. She grew up with three elder sisters, lived in eight cities across India, and went from being a B Com graduate who wanted to pursue dance (and eradicate poverty), to a journalist, and then landed up in an advertising agency. The only constant was that she had a blast through all of it. Now, she wants to spend the rest of her life observing people, spinning yarns and writing books. Every pocket she owns is stuffed with scraps of paper scribbled with ideas and stories. This is Richa's debut novel.




Contact the Author:
Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

Giveaway:
Paperback Copies of I Didn't Expect to be Expecting & Harper Collins Badges

a Rafflecopter giveaway

12 June, 2018

#BookBlitz :: India Whose Country is it Anyway? by A.P.S.Kumar


About the Book:
India's rich diversity, both in its physical and natural aspects, is widely known. India has had a great past with achievements in literature, the arts, medicine and mathematics.

Indians were sea-faring and they spread their influence through their philosophy, religion and military conquest too. But Like a cosmic phenomenon, decline is every civilization is inevitable. Indian civilization too declined.

When a civilization rises, people are driven by idealism; when people are possessed of greed, it declines and falls.

Indians today are possessed of excessive, abominable, putrefying greed.

The author tells it all in an honest, engaging manner. He holds a mirror unto ourselves.


Book Link:

About the Author:
I hail from a middle class family. Son of a soldier, I did my studies in Bengaluru obtaining a Bachelor’s degree (from St. Joseph’s College) in Science and then in Law from a different college. 

Though not very serious about studies, I took to books with keen interest in social sciences history in particular, literature and natural sciences (in general) and current affairs. I am drawn wittingly towards that abstract thinking – that is, philosophy.

Worked in a Government-owned Insurance Company - United India Insurance Co Ltd - as a Salesman (designated as Development Officer) and retired voluntarily a decade ago.
I spend time reading and writing, travelling both within the country and outside. I ardently believe in community work; I concentrate on education of children, obviously from poor background.  

Nationalism – i.e. love of fellow citizens - is my creed. I am passionate about friendships, am devoid of all other -isms.

Contact the author via eMail




11 June, 2018

#BookReview :: Dead to Them by Smita Bhattacharya

Dead to Them by Smita Bhattacharya

Moira Madhwa is the typical young, beautiful and successful urban woman until the day she goes missing. Her friends start looking for her, but quickly realize nothing is as it seems. Moira had kept devastating secrets—secrets that could wreck their lives if revealed. As days roll by, one by one, skeletons tumble out of closets, and each of Moira’s friends’ looks guilty. But did one among them hate her enough to do the worst?

A nail-biting, psychological suspense thriller, Dead to Them weaves a web of deception, lies, and paranoia in the city of Mumbai, where every face hides a dark story and uncovering it can lead to disastrous consequences.


Goodreads I Amazon



Mystery, suspense and thrillers have always been my favourites.  And so even though I am fighting a huge back log, I just couldn’t miss the opportunity to read this one. 

The book ‘Dead to Them’ is narrated to the readers through multiple points of view. When Moira goes missing, we are given the pieces of her life through her friends. It is left up to the readers to take those pieces and complete the picture before the reveal at the climax. What do you do when you are provided with snippets of a whole story? How do you connect and make sense of them all? And who do you trust when each person in the story have their own motives to do away with Moira? 

What I liked the most about the book was its narrative and presentation. There were parts were Moira’s voice shone through and there were parts where I could hear the voices of the other characters trying to tell their side of the story. It took me a while to get settled with the flow of the story, but once I got used to it, it was a smooth flow from thereon. It took me a couple of chapters only to get the rhythm of the story.

Characters are where the book is a bit of a hit and miss. We kind of expect the protagonist to shine through in a book. In this case, Moira did not really make an impression on me till the second half of the book. On the other hand, while the supporting characters each had their own quirks, it was difficult at times to discern whose voice it was. Frankly, if each character wasn’t named with the dialogues, I would have trouble understanding the difference. They are all (almost all) painted in the same colours.

Besides the fact that I wished for a bit more fleshing of the characters, this book was quite entertaining. And that ending… The ending of the book is quite an interesting one. So yes, Suspense and Psychological suspense lovers, do give this book a try. 


Review Copy received from the Author


09 June, 2018

#BookBlitz :: Mauri (Abhaya Series #2) by Saiswaroopa Iyer

~ New Release ~
Mauri by Saiswaroopa Iyer


About the Book:
She wanted to kill the man who others called a God.
Love is but an obstacle in her path

With her father’s death shattering her world, Mauri is torn away from everything she had once loved. Anger replacing every emotion within her, she seeks only one thing. To kill her father’s killer. Even if the man is none less than Krishna Vaasudeva, the man who people worshipped as a God! Someone stands in the way, reining in her bitterness when she is the least prepared for it. The Rakshasa Prince Ghatotkacha! But by the time love sprouts within her, Mauri has gone too far in her thirst for vengeance. 

Can Mauri save herself and Ghatotkacha before the consequences of her own actions can destroy both their worlds?





Book Link:

Read an Excerpt:

“Good aim! But that sorry-looking insult to all weapons is not going to take you very far.”
Mauri jumped out of her skin. The man who had found her out was a complete stranger. A closer look at him told her he was a Rakshasa. Her first instinct was to make a run towards the exit. It would be only a matter of time before this Rakshasa would go and tell Ghatotkacha. Then it struck her that she had never seen this man in Ghatotkacha’s team! Who was he?
“Your secret is safe with me, little one!” He beamed. The broken canine on his upper jaw could not be missed. He took her arm but she shook him off. “Alright! Remember girl, I am your well-wisher.”
“I don’t even know who you are!” Mauri backed away.
“Someone who can protect you from…,” he smirked and pointed to the gap between the two ornate pillars close to where she was hiding, “them”
Mauri peered through the gap. She could count up to six guards furiously searching for the culprit who had dared strike Krishna Vaasudeva. The foolhardy nature of her attempt struck her now. How had she even dreamt of escaping the heavily guarded palace after doing what she’d done?
“Come with me.” He held her arm. “If you want to escape without being seen, that is.” His voice assumed a lower note. “And if you want to get another chance at your target.”
Unsure and still guided by her frustration, Mauri followed him towards a secluded section of the vast palace garden. When she left the place a good couple of hours later, her mind reeled at the task before her. It was too much, what the Rakshasa had asked of her. But she could not have afforded to be caught by the palace guards. Possibly she could have lied about her aim going wrong when she was trying to get some fruit. The news would still have travelled to Dhatri, though, and who knew how she would react? On the other hand, the prospects that this Rakshasa promised, though at great risk, seemed more welcome. Mauri continued to walk in a daze, aimless and unmindful of the maze of paths. A shrill cry calling out to her brought her back to this world.
“Mauri! Where on earth did you disappear?!” Nandini ran up to her, and not very far behind was Dhatri!
For the first time, Mauri found herself tongue-tied, at a loss for explanations. “I…I came with Ghatotkacha. I lost my way.”
“Any guard would have guided you out of this place.” Dhatri’s voice had traces of annoyance. “And why did you not even inform us before leaving?” She sighed as Mauri slipped back into silence again. “I found us a caravan headed eastward. Let us quickly take leave of our hosts and start this afternoon.”
Mauri followed her without a word. She needed to be in Dhatri’s good books. “Mahadevi…after going back to Kamarupa, can I live with you?”
She saw Dhatri halt in her steps and look visibly delighted. She heard Nandini squeal with joy. Neither had a clue of what was going on in her mind.
When they left Indraprastha later in the day, Mauri looked back at the glorious looking arch receding into the distance. She had not taken leave of Ghatotkacha. It would have been nice to see him just one more time!

About the Author:


Formerly an analyst with a Venture capital firm, Saiswaroopa currently writes Puranic fiction, with a focus on lesser known heroines of Ancient India. Mauri is her third work of fiction after Abhaya and Avishi. Her interests include Carnatic Music, Philosophy, History and Literature of India. She won a state level gold medal from TTD in rendering Annamacharya Kritis. She holds an MBA from Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur.




Contact the Author:


08 June, 2018

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - Characters and Themes from I Didn't Expect to be Expecting



*** Special Feature - June 2018 ***


About the Book:

Tara is living a blessed life in the maximum city with her husband Abhimanyu, the love of her life. At the pinnacle of her career, she is the apple of her parents’ eyes and hasn’t spotted a wrinkle yet – so far, the 30s are looking great!
Nothing fazes Tara – not a foul-mouthed best friend or a food-burning arch-nemesis in the form of her maid – not even a landlady who chats with ghosts.
And then, Tara discovers that she’s pregnant, and suddenly, all that well-honed composure crumbles. It doesn’t help that she’s got an equally jittery (if supportive) husband by her side. Now, Tara must face her anxieties about parenthood as she navigates friendships, marriage and career, all the while dealing with the fact that her body and mind are steadily feeling like they belong to someone else.
An irreverent, honest and funny journey down the road – potholes and all – to (accidental) parenthood!



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Characters and Themes:

‘I think it is time for you to have kids. What if dada’s potli stops working?!’ You’d be right in assuming that this advice is coming from a well-meaning sister or friend. But you’re wrong in this case. These not very eloquent, pearls of reproductive wisdom are thrown at Tara Sharma, the protagonist of the book, by her loud mouthed and militant maid. If this had happened a few decades ago, my frail grandmother would have positively chased the maid out of the house with a broom for her audacity.  But times-are-a-changing! (cue tune)

And this theme is something that you will find throughout the book. A motley mix of personalities and ‘characters’ in every sense of the word, representing what the modern Indian family and society have become.  The environment has changed, the equations have changed, tolerance levels have changed, throw an unexpected baby in this midst and you have the perfect setting for a comedy or errors and a laugh riot. Setting the stage is Tara Sharma, a sweet, strong, confident young woman (no traces of an abla nari here) who can make the husband, parents, in-laws, colleagues, friends do the Macarena at the snap of her fingers. She challenges even her mother in law and bows to no-one but her annoying and verbose maid, again, something, like I said earlier, was not thought to be possible a few years ago. From running just the house, this mafia of jhadu wielding women now run our lives. 

Mothers do not need to get along, bosses are not revered but ridiculed, friends have become like family, pregnant women don’t behave like hormonal, helpless sacks but are out there popping antacids and ruling boardrooms in maternity pants. Every character in the book is a reflection of their new and improved roles in the world. Their unpredictable natures and chaotic situations make for a relatable, contemporary and chuckle-filled read.

About the Author:


Richa’s life has always been marked with abundance. She grew up with three elder sisters, lived in eight cities across India, and went from being a B Com graduate who wanted to pursue dance (and eradicate poverty), to a journalist, and then landed up in an advertising agency. The only constant was that she had a blast through all of it. Now, she wants to spend the rest of her life observing people, spinning yarns and writing books. Every pocket she owns is stuffed with scraps of paper scribbled with ideas and stories. This is Richa's debut novel.




Contact the Author:
Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

Giveaway:
Paperback Copies of I Didn't Expect to be Expecting & Harper Collins Badges

a Rafflecopter giveaway

01 June, 2018

#SpecialFeature :: Introducing Richa Mukherjee, #Author of I Didn't Expect to be Expecting

Under "Special Feature" every month I feature a Special Author. 
During this month I put up 5 posts about the Author/Book, including Interview / Review / Excerpt / Guest Post / Author Bio / Fun Facts or whatever else we can come up with. Also on the first day of the month we will  launch the Giveaway contest along with the first post and will announce the winner on the last day of the month.
So be sure to check out my blog every 1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd and 29th of every month for something new :)


*** Special Feature - June 2018 ***


About the Author:
Richa S Mukherjee is an Advertising and Brand consultant based out of Mumbai. These days she can be found working feverishly and with much excitement on the release of her first novel – I Didn’t Expect To Be Expecting! while her tiny daughter, also the reluctant research subject for the book walks around creating havoc.

While growing up, writing was always a hobby for her. Her earliest words were scribbled into poems of longing for her father who used to travel often. Surrounded by an ocean of civil servants including her father and every possible uncle and long distance relative alive, she went rogue and experimented with a wide range of interests and professions.  From being a B.Com graduate who wanted to pursue dance (and eradicate poverty), to a journalist, to an MBA that accidentally landed her in an advertising agency for about a decade, she had a grand time through it all. Another factor that helped the writing was all the moving. With a transfer to a new city every few years, words were a constant friend (along with a large dollop of three elder sisters of-course). While she was looked at suspiciously for the number of schools attended, all this exposure helped her observe and understand people from various walks of life and backgrounds a bit better. The writing took a backseat for the sake of other youthful indulgences but the reading continued. On her maternity break and in the middle of odious smelling diaper changes, she remembered just how much she missed putting her thoughts to paper. It’s unclear whether it was the creative juices which tend to be uncorked on becoming a mother, or the fact that she was on a break from work and finally had some time on her hands, but the result was a book full of poems, starting her blog, writing short stories and finishing this book which lay languishing for a long time. A fortuitous meeting with famous Romance author Ravinder Singh on winning the TOI Write India contest (Top 10 entries) on his prompt, led to the dust finally flying off the buried book and turning into a book deal with Black Ink Books and Harper Collins. Writing, thus far, has been a long and hard journey of self-discovery but there’s almost nothing else that can put a big goofy grin on her face quite like spinning yarns and she hopes to forever be in pursuit.

Contact the Author:
Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

Fun Facts about the Author:

1. She is possibly the only person to have sky dived with long open hair and also have choked the instructor with it on the way down.

2. She suffers from Misophonia- A condition where noise sensitivity (especially caused through loud chewing) drives one up the wall ( She is not very pleasant dinner table company when this happens)

3. She can hold a plank position for 6 minutes. (Sometimes these have to be performed while her daughter has mounted her back. Basically she is female Rocky Balboa)

4. Every signature of hers is slightly different.  (She hopes the bankers never find out)

5. She belongs to a tribe, not a family. There’s about 65 members. (Dinner invitations to the ‘entire family’ lead to severe palpitations)

About the Book:

Tara is living a blessed life in the maximum city with her husband Abhimanyu, the love of her life. At the pinnacle of her career, she is the apple of her parents’ eyes and hasn’t spotted a wrinkle yet – so far, the 30s are looking great!
Nothing fazes Tara – not a foul-mouthed best friend or a food-burning arch-nemesis in the form of her maid – not even a landlady who chats with ghosts.
And then, Tara discovers that she’s pregnant, and suddenly, all that well-honed composure crumbles. It doesn’t help that she’s got an equally jittery (if supportive) husband by her side. Now, Tara must face her anxieties about parenthood as she navigates friendships, marriage and career, all the while dealing with the fact that her body and mind are steadily feeling like they belong to someone else.
An irreverent, honest and funny journey down the road – potholes and all – to (accidental) parenthood!



Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Giveaway:
Paperback Copies of I Didn't Expect to be Expecting & Harper Collins Badges

a Rafflecopter giveaway

29 May, 2018

#SpecialFeature :: #Interview with Ruchi Kokcha, #Author of Obsessed


*** Special Feature - May 2018 ***

Quick Recap:


About the Book:
Disturbingly dark and full of shocking surprises, Obsessed traverses a path along the razor’s edge of twisted love. How far will Avik’s and Ananki’s obsessions take them? 

Investigative journalist Avik has finally found the one case that could bring him glory. Or death.
   
As the mystery behind millionaire Kalki Rajput’s murder thickens, Avik is forced to risk it all to bring out the truth that has eluded many before him.

If only he could uncover what the victim's daughter had witnessed. Of course, that would mean diving into the depths of her madness. He had thought he could resurface with the truth. Now he will count himself lucky if he makes it out alive. And sane.

Populated with characters that pose at the chasm that separates the real from the unreal, in prose that belongs to worlds not our own, Obsessed will snatch you from your comfort zone. None will ever guess the identity of the killer until the book chooses to reveal it. 

Amazon


Interview with the Author:

When did you first realize that you wanted to be a writer/ a storyteller?
I was an avid reader ever since I can remember. I was particularly fond of stories and storytelling. For a very long time in my life I was content being a reader. During school I used to win many writing competitions but I never thought of trying my hand at fiction. It was during my graduation when it first came to my mind that perhaps I should try to write something beyond essays and debates and course answers.

What inspires you to write?
Writing is therapeutic for me. It keeps me going during the worst of times. 

What kind of research goes into your book?
For my debut book Obsessed, I read a lot of stuff on psychoanalysis, madness and mental illnesses as it deals with the theme of sanity and madness. I had to read about various drugs that are administered in various mental disorders, the way mental patients are treated etc

How did you come up with the idea for your current story? 
During college I was particularly fond of Greek literature. I was learning to admire women like Lysistrata who makes her fellow women go on a sex strike and thereby stops the ongoing war. I was also learning to empathize with someone like Medea who murders her own sons to avenge herself for the infidelity inflicted upon her by her husband. The idea behind the book was to create a story unique like theirs

If you could pick any famous author to review your book who would you pick and why?
I would pick Murakami. I love his books and especially his narrative techniques. I wish someday I am able to write like him.

Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so what helps you to get over it?
I would not call it as a block.  My mind is quite restless and I get distracted with other ideas. At that time I leave the current work for a while and do something else. I come back to it later on with a fresh focus. It helps.

What part of the writing process do you enjoy the most?
I enjoy writing the first draft the most because that is when I am telling the story to myself. It is the most honest and raw.  Although it has to be worked upon many times but I love the sense of accomplishment one gets after finishing the first draft. 

What is the best piece of advice you have received, as a writer, till date?
Be true to yourself as a writer. It was given to me by my best friend.

What is the best piece of advice you would give to someone that wants to get into writing?
If you want to write to be famous, don’t. If you want to write to be rich, don’t. If you want to write to impress, don’t. Write only if there is something within you that only you can express in the best possible way.  Write for yourself. Everything else will follow.

About the Author:


Ruchi Kokcha is a writer and a poet who truly believes in her saying, ‘People come, people go, poetry stays.’ A lover of stories, she did her master’s in English literature from Delhi University. Currently working as a teacher, when not immersed in books or typing her heart out, she loves weight training at the gym or swaying to a Bollywood dance number. Obsessed is her first novel.





Contact the Author:

Giveaway:
Specially made Diary

a Rafflecopter giveaway

28 May, 2018

#CoverReveal - Mauri (Abhaya #2) by Saiswaroopa Iyer


Mauri, the second book of Abhaya collection by Saiswaroopa Iyer is set to release on 9th June 2018 on Amazon Kindle Store. Set in the times of Mahabharata, the books explore lesser known stories of the timeless epic of India from the perspectives of strong female protagonists. The opening Title, Abhaya, was released on Kindle store in November 2015 and has received praise from acclaimed authors and reviewers.

"Abhaya allows us to delve into the world of our ancestors and Gods through the route of great storytelling and a brilliant narrative. A thoroughly enjoyable read" - Amish Tripathi

About Mauri

She wanted to kill the man who others called a God.
Love is but an obstacle in her path

With her father’s death shattering her world, Mauri is torn away from everything she had once loved. Anger replacing every emotion within her, she seeks only one thing. To kill her father’s killer. Even if the man is none less than Krishna Vaasudeva, the man who people worshipped as a God! Someone stands in the way, reining in her bitterness when she is the least prepared for it. The Rakshasa Prince Ghatotkacha! But by the time love sprouts within her, Mauri has gone too far in her thirst for vengeance. Can Mauri save herself and Ghatotkacha before the consequences of her own actions can destroy both their worlds?



Excerpt

The smile on Ghatotkacha’s face faded the moment he saw the figure that had appeared atop the wall. Unknown to him, his fists curled over his club and heart fought against the searing pain of the memory. The memory of betrayal. His intensified gaze and a placid forehead contrasted each other. No more of this. Not now!
Mauri saw him. Like he commanded a new surge of energy after their last meeting. Mauri had little in her defence. And she had other things on her mind before she could take an interest in defending herself. In fact, she had no wish to defend her past actions. Face it! But her predicament sorely needed external help and his demeanour did not leave much hope. Mauri steeled her heart and inhaled. She was going to need all her energies for this! 
She forced a smile onto her lips and looked at him, trying to summon her old self. “So, we have visitors!” she thundered, glancing at his small band of Rakshasa followers. “But I regret to inform you that the temple is closed to pilgrims indefinitely.” 
“Closed to pilgrims, open to monstrous rogues and their heartless little minions.” Ghatotkacha retorted. “Perhaps there needs to be a change.”
Her guilt notwithstanding, Mauri was not going to brook being called names, much less, being called a minion to a crafty coward like Alambusha. Still, his pain when he uttered the word ‘heartless’ did not go unnoticed by her. Her frown narrowed, fighting back any traces of regret. In vain though. “Change comes at a price, Rakshasa Prince, sorry, King. Though I must say the population under your command has dwindled too much for one to still consider you a king.” She could see his annoyance mounting. Something amused her about it. “So tell me what you can pay, Ghatotkacha!” 
Ghatotkacha threw his head up and shrugged looking around. “I would have loved to play a game of word parlay. Except this is no stage and there is no audience to enjoy the exchange.” His eyes betrayed impatience. “I come to keep a promise. A promise of protection that was given to this sacred place under the rule of my uncle, Emperor Yudhishtira. My demand is clear, daughter of late commander Mura. Open the gates, surrender the rogue Rakshasa traitors to me. Open up this temple of the Supreme Goddess to those who deserve to see Her.”
“I asked for a price you could pay and you repeat the demand. By the Goddess, someone needs to grow up!” Mauri sneered back and leaned against a pole, feigning nonchalance. This was all going nowhere—her show of hostility, his mounting anger, Dhatri’s life in danger, and Alambusha preferring to hide inside the inner circle. She needed to break away. She struck upon a frantic plan, praying all Gods for its success. “There seems to be only one language you understand. Defeat me, and you can have a free pass inside.”

About the Author
Formerly an analyst with a Venture capital firm, Saiswaroopa currently writes Puranic fiction, with a focus on lesser known heroines of Ancient India. Mauri is her third work of fiction after Abhaya and Avishi. Her interests include Carnatic Music, Philosophy, History and Literature of India. She won a state level gold medal from TTD in rendering Annamacharya Kritis. She holds an MBA from Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur.