20 April, 2018

#BookBlitz :: Forsaken Norse Wind by Ciara Lake

About the Book:
A troll, a mortal, and a love hot enough to melt ice.

Trapped in a vicious life, Breanna Devion survives only by the strength of her heart. Determined to have more than what her abusive stepfather has planned for her, she's willing to risk everything to be free.

Axel Venrick is a troll who has spent centuries alone, isolated in his castle in Iceland. At the insistence of others, Axel crafts the ultimate tool to find his soul mate. He creates a beautiful ring which is bespelled, blessed by a god, and sent forth to locate Axel's other half.

The ring finds Breanna just in time to prevent her stepfather's disastrous plan from taking place. But angry gods, vengeful parents, and an evil lurking in the immortal world all conspire to destroy the love of the jaded troll and his innocent mortal. Can their love free them or will the evil spreading from the bowels of the earth destroy them first?


Book Links:

Read an Excerpt:

“It’s going to be ugly if they get here. I may have to kill some of them. I’d prefer not to, at least this day. But they may leave me no choice.” He shrugged. “So, let’s go to avoid this problem. I didn’t come here to make war on these humans. I came to fetch my mate.” He stepped closer to the porch. “Trust me, Breanna. Let your heart guide you. If you listen to it, you will know what to do.”
“My mother’s in her room sleeping. I need help with her. She’s ill, and she can be difficult.”
“Let me inside, I’ll talk to her.”
“Okay.” She stood aside. “I’m your mate?”
“Yes, you’re my mate.” In a few quick steps, he stood inside the house. He had to duck as he entered, and once inside he hunched not to hit the ceiling. “Gather what you would like to take with us. Get the coat I gave you.”
Breanna picked up the coat to put it on. She took him to her mother.
“Mother, this is Axel. We need to leave with him. Hugh’s upset with us. He’s coming back to… hurt us. We have to go.” Breanna tapped her mother’s arm. “Mother, please wake up.”
Fiona rolled over to look at Breanna. Her eyes were crazed. “What is it, child?” Her voice sounded weak. “I was dreaming of Hema taking me to his realm.”
“We need to leave. This is Axel.” Breanna pointed at him. “Umm, he’s a friend of mine. We need to go with him, now.”
“No.” Her mother sat up in the bed, shaking her head. Her hair looked wild all over her head. “I must wait for Hema to return. If I’m gone he may not find me.”
“Mother, we have to go. Hugh’s not happy, and he’s bringing others to start trouble.” 
“You leave, I’m staying here. I’m not worried about Hugh.” She lay back down, rolling to the other side. “I cannot leave. Hema may come to get me.”
Axel patted Breanna on her shoulder. “They’re almost here. Stand back with me. Lay the coat down then give me your hand. We’ll watch to make sure your mother’s safe.”
He reached for her hand, and Breanna allowed him to hold it.
“No one can see us now. It takes less power if you hold my hand to make you invisible with me. We’ll wait and watch. They cannot hear us either.”
Breanna followed Axel out into the front room of the house. They stood to the right of the fireplace out of the way. The front door burst open, and Breanna jumped.
“It’s okay. They don’t see or hear us. You’ll be safe.” He gently squeezed her hand. “Relax.”
Hugh, along with two other men, entered the house. The door banged against the wall, and they pushed the chairs to the floor as they stomped inside. Others were outside the house calling loudly for her.
“Where’s the bastard? The damn girl’s in league with him.

About the Author:

Welcome to Ciara Lake's World. Meet Gorgeous Werewolves, Vampires, Dragons, Mermaids, Wizards, Witches, Mythological Gods and Goddesses, Mere Mortals And More! Fiction has always been a passion of mine. Creating worlds and developing characters is a great way for me to relieve the stress and strain of my everyday world. In fantasy (paranormal) and sci-fi stories, the author has the unique ability to invent wonderfully exotic places and people. I do that in my books. These fantastic genres provide a limitless ability to be creative and inventive. My stories provide an escape into a special world filled with unique and otherworldly things. And there is always a happy ending.



Contact the Author:

18 April, 2018

#BookBlitz :: Fate's Design by Subhashish Dey

About the Book:


When a kidnapper redeems his lost conscience and finds himself unable to murder the girl he has kidnapped, what does he do? Fate is cruel to him, and good intentions are never enough. 

At the same time, a woman dissatisfied with her existence flees from her home, not knowing what lies ahead of her. But all things come at a price, and she has a hard path ahead through storms and fire.   

Watch how fate has entwined these lives together, into a song through struggles of conscience and identity, through the deepest lows and greatest highs, and through the flame of madness and the stings of survival.     




Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon


Feedback for the Book:

5 Stars “An extremely well written thriller by an amazing fourteen-year-old. Written at an age when most teenagers find their boats floundering in the sea of words, Subhashish had not only managed to keep a grip on the plot, taking the reader along the journey of his well-drawn out characters, he had also shown a rare maturity in his choice of words. His insights are at times startling, coming from someone of his age.” ~ Supratim Kar on Amazon

5 Stars – “An impressive first novel. The author is still in his teens, but the narrative voice is one of maturity and experience. The story unfolds like a Russian romance novel, in a modern setting. The plot is complex and suspenseful and keeps one turning the pages until the climax.” ~ T.N.Badri on Amazon

“A thoroughly interesting read, Fate’s Design, plays out as a struggle to live, survive and not merely exist. There are flaws, which in any case, are there in every piece of writing, but, the author’s abilities to weave a story, which does not make you, cringe or question its validity, make it an interesting work worth going over more than once.” ~ Soumyabrata Gupta


About the Author:
Subhashish is a 14-year-old student of Chinmaya Vidyalaya Anna Nagar. He has been regularly contributing short stories to his school magazine. An avid reader, Subhashish believes that books open the doors to some wonderful insights in life. A brilliant student, Subhashish loves to explore different places and spends time trying to understand the culture of the people there. 

Subhashish lives in Chennai along with his parents and grandmother. This is his first attempt at writing a novel. Subhashish is passionate about music and loves singing and playing his piano. Incidentally, music forms the backbone of the story of his novel. 



17 April, 2018

#Spotlight :: Better With You by Rachel John




  

 Paige Parker has no time for romance. She’s too busy building up her house-flipping business. But when a charming guy comes between her and the house she wants, Paige is a little more torn than she expected. For a girl who’s always gone with her firm business sense, she’s not sure how to trust her heart. When it comes to dating, Shaun Randall is not about to get serious with anyone. He has his mother to take care of and enough family secrets to keep him running from any girl who gets too close. Spending time with Paige starts out as a means to get the house he wants, but every time he thinks it’s time to bail, he finds himself drawn in a little more. When is it worth taking a chance on love? 
 

  Praise 
"I have to say this story was freaking awesome! I breezed through it in an afternoon." 
"I loved this sweet romance story. The characters were believable and there were some funny moments. I've also read (and loved) the first book in the series, but you could easily read this as a standalone."
 
  EXCERPT

Shaun Randall could spot a bad date from a mile away, and this one at a nearby table was obviously not going well. The guy’s first mistake was bringing a girl to a sports bar and sitting where he could watch the game, while she sat and toyed with her lemonade. The football game only mildly interested him, and he couldn’t help checking back, more and more certain this was a first, maybe second date scenario and not a girlfriend/boyfriend situation. There was definitely an awkward newness vibe going on between the two. Plus, she was way too dressed up for a sports bar, while her date was in cargo shorts and a T-shirt. Watching the guy down his third beer and order another one gave Shaun the push he needed. Thanks to his six foot, four inch height and his bright red hair, Shaun stood out for all the wrong reasons. He was not the best-looking guy there. But he did have one gift, and that was understanding women and how to talk to them. It didn’t always mean he said the right thing. He liked messing with people almost as much as he liked flirting. In this case, he could do both. He took a last sip of his Coke and went to make his move. If things went badly, it would be a fun story for later. He planted his hands on their table and waited until she noticed him. “Hi, cuz. I’m so glad I found you. Your mom’s been trying to get a hold of you. Is your phone on silent?” Dark brown eyes framed in long lashes stared at him, her forehead knotting in confusion. She was even more beautiful up close. “Hey, man, you’re blocking the TV.” Her date weaved his head around him, groaning when the play didn’t go the way he wanted. “Oh, you’re right.” The girl held up her phone, hiding a slight smile. “I did miss some calls. Jeremy, I need to go. Sorry to cut our date short.” Jeremy looked at Shaun and then at her, finally paying attention. “Come on. I need you to be my designated driver. And who’s this guy?” “My … cousin.” She pulled out a couple of bills and dropped them on the table. “Call a cab, it’s on me. Sorry the date didn’t work out.” She strode off, throwing her purse strap over one shoulder, and Shaun had to jog to catch up. 



      

Rachel John is the author of books filled with awkward humor and sigh-inducing romance. When not burning dinner or chasing kids, Rachel can be found working on family history, writing, reading, or putting off writing by staring at Facebook. She lives in Arizona with her understanding husband, four crazy kids, and a desert tortoise.

  Also by Rachel John
   
  Blog Tour Giveaway $25 Amazon Gift Code or $25 in Paypal Cash Ends 4/30/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

16 April, 2018

#BookBlitz :: I Owed You One by Madhu Vajpayee


About the Book:




Publisher: LiFi Publications Pvt. Ltd.
ISBN: 978-9386191281
Format: Paperback
Pages: 258 pages
Price: 275/-







Dev Khanna has a perfect life with his loving wife Radhika and son Neel in Melbourne, Australia. But there is something from his past that keeps gnawing him, an open wound that is a reminder of a debt. His present is very flourishing and future promising but what happens when the past comes knocking? As the skeletons begin to tumble one after other from the cupboard it is now threating his present.

Join Dev on a journey that spans across the tall skylines of Melbourne, the royal Dilwalo ki Dilli to the dingy streets of Moradabad as he battles love, religion, politics and fear questioning his own beliefs at every step. Will he be able to make peace with his past and save his future? Will humanity lose this battle against everything else?

Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon

Feedback for the Book:


5 Stars “With an intriguing and powerful theme, the author has chosen a realistic and suspenseful plot with all its subplots tied very well. The characters are realistic and believable. Descriptive writing style along with the confident tone of narration with the extremely good use of vocabulary made it easier for understanding. The suspense that starts building up in the midway is being handled with utmost care and is taken care that it does not loses its grip and holds the capacity to keep the readers engrossed till the last page.” ~ Nikita onAmazon

5 Stars – “Entwined in the backdrop of a courageous young man who let go his turmoiled past and commits himself to love and fulfill his duty without self-interest to be an ultimate winner, the author constantly reminds and beautifully conveys that secularism means humanism and peaceful coexistence. The book has all the makings of a Bollywood blockbuster. A must read for everyone...” ~ Namita Dimrion Amazon


4 Stars “The story line is no less than a thriller. It has all the elements for a perfect entertaining read. Romance, action, drama, mystery, socio-political angle and lots of thriller. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this unpredictable tale of Dev and travelling across continents with him to witness what is the extent one can go for a loved one. There are some scenes that left me goose bumps, because of how real it all felt.” ~ PrivyTrifles

About the Author:
Dr. Madhu Vajpayee- the writer is born somewhere in those hospital corridors where she has spent the last two decades of her life. Witnessing life at such close quarters pushed her to capture the enigma of life in her words and slowly it became her passion. After writing several medical papers and chapters in books, she started her journey in the literary world. Seeking Redemption was her first fiction book which is now followed by I Owed You One.

Having done her graduation, MBBS from King Georges Medical University (KGMU), Lucknow she went ahead to pursue her post-graduation, MD from AIIMS, New Delhi. She was a faculty at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi having been associated with management of patients living with HIV/AIDS. She is now settled in Melbourne, Australia with her family, where she is devoting most of her time to writing, the passion that she couldn’t pursue earlier because of the demands of medical profession and commitment it requires.

When not creating stories, Madhu enjoys reading and traveling.

Contact the Author:



#CoverReveal :: Dating the Prince by Alina Snow

Check out the cover to Alina Snow's debut novel Dating the Prince!  
  Dating the Prince by Alina Snow
Small-town girl, Katie O’Connor has always dreamed of seeing her name in lights. Check the box for fame, a movie deal, the perfect leading role that comes with a gorgeous leading man! Katie moved to Hollywood, elbows her way into auditions, lives on a shoestring budget—whatever is required to land a deal, she throws her heart into… until she’s involved in a royal kidnapping.
As the future king, Prince Alexander refuses to rule from an ivory tower. Duty-bound, he intends to relate to his future subjects, regardless of their walk of life. Before his coronation, he needs a foolproof plan to outrun his security team and go temporarily AWOL. While visiting L.A., all it takes is a sound stage collision and Alex is blindsided by a headstrong woman who is simply irresistible. So much so, he calls in a favor in order to secure her help … as his pretend girlfriend.
Their worlds are oceans apart, but their immediate attraction is impossible to put aside, especially their nonstop banter. Miffed at being wrangled into a situation that might blow up in her face, Katie comes up with her own plan. If The Prince is serious about walking the walk of the common folk, she’s only too happy to oblige as his pretend girlfriend. Through an ice storm, a road trip, kitchen duty, and a Texas pig race, Alex captures the hearts of the locals as well as Ms. O’Connor’s.
What starts out as a deal Katie can’t refuse becomes the acting role of a lifetime… letting Prince Alexander go without a fight.
A delightfully funny retelling of The Prince and The Pauper that romance readers of all ages will enjoy. On a two-week 1,500-mile road trip, Katie and Alex discover the end of the road might just be the beginning of their ‘Happy Ever After’ together.
Blog Tour Sign Ups May 14th to 25th
 
 Southern gal at heart. Alina is a librarian who adores her job. She has a degree in anthropology from Vanderbilt and loves writing offbeat romance comedy. To refuel, Alina sings karaoke, bakes sweet treats, and can be found at the Y, kickboxing. She lives in Knoxville with her husband and Callie, their doxie mix.
   
  $25 Amazon Gift Code or $25 in Paypal Cash 
 Ends 5/7/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

15 April, 2018

#SpecialFeature :: The Story of a Long-Distance Marriage #ReadingList by Siddhesh Inamdar



*** Special Feature - April 2018 ***

About the Book:
We’ll always have each other to come back to.

Rohan and Ira’s life takes an unexpected turn when Ira decides to leave for New York to study. They’ve been married for only fifteen months, but this is the opportunity of a lifetime, and Rohan is not going to come between his wife and her dream. So, sad but supportive, he stays back in Delhi, where he is on the brink of a promotion at a national daily. After all, his relationship with Ira is strong enough to survive the distance—they are new-age lovers who don’t let marriage come in the way of careers and ambitions.

Rohan prepares for a year without Ira, getting by with a little help from his friends: Yusuf, his on-call confidant who lives in Bangalore; Alisha, a colleague he likes catching up with over tea; and Tanuj, his new role model at work. Life without Ira is going surprisingly well. Until the day, that is, she reveals the real reason she left.

Beautifully written and unflinchingly honest, this is the love story of our times.

Book Links:
Harper Collins * Amazon


The Story of a Long-Distance Marriage Reading List

When an editor and a former student of literature writes a novel, it is difficult not to use literary references. My novel has a number of such references from some of my favourite books. In this post, I want to put together a short reading list based on the references I have used in my book. I hope reading my novel (or just this post) prompts you to pick up these great works (if you haven’t already) that have inspired me and thousands of readers around the world. 

1) The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
One of my all-time favourite novels – one that I have just finished re-reading after a gap of more than a decade. This is a simply told, powerful story of growing up and coming of age, of finding and making oneself. It is the only novel that has moved me to tears and made me wish I could write like this. Here’s the quote from The Namesake that I have used in my book to talk about the importance of travel and the need to see the world: 

You are still young, free. Do yourself a favour. Before it’s too late, without thinking too much about it ¬ first, pack a pillow and a blanket and see as much of the world as you can. You will not regret it. One day it will be too late.

2) The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Again an old favourite, whose themes of teenage angst and alienation resonated with me deeply when I first read it in college. As I did, I am sure many readers identify with the protagonist Holden Caulfield’s sense of aimlessness and dislike for everything as he tries to figure himself out. The passage I have quoted from in my book is the one where he talks about the only thing he’d really like to do, and that says a lot about his character: 

I keep picturing all these little kids playing in this field of rye and all. And nobody’s around –except me. What I have to do is catch everybody if they start to go over the cliff. That’s all I’d do all day. I’d just be the catcher in the rye and all. I know it’s crazy, but that’s the only thing I’d really like to be.

3) The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien 
I invoke the friendship between Frodo and Sam – which I think is one of the greatest friendships in all of literature – to describe the friendship between Rohan (the protagonist of my story) and his best friend Yusuf. Sam and Frodo’s bond is a lesson in loyalty, commitment and devotion. And while this is not a quote I have used in the book, it highlights the strength of their friendship and shows why you should count yourself fortunate if you have even one friend who answers to the description of Sam in your life:

Sam: I wonder if we’ll ever be put into songs or tales. I wonder if people will ever say, ‘Let’s hear about Frodo and the Ring.’ And they’ll say, ‘Yes, that’s one of my favourite stories. Frodo was really courageous, wasn’t he, Dad?’ 
Frodo: You’ve left out one of the chief characters – Samwise the Brave. I want to hear more about Sam. Frodo wouldn’t have got far without Sam.


About the Author:
Siddhesh Inamdar is a 30-year-old writer and editor based in Delhi. 
He graduated in English Literature from St Xavier's College, Mumbai, and was a recipient of Mumbai University's gold medal in the subject. He did a master's in English from Delhi University and a postgraduate diploma in journalism from the Asian College of Journalism, Chennai, where also he ranked first in his batch. 
He has worked with the  Hindu as a correspondent based in Pune, with DNA in Mumbai and with Hindustan Times in Delhi. He has been with HarperCollins since 2013 as an editor for non-fiction books. Some of the authors he has worked with include Raghuram Rajan, Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, Devdutt Pattanaik and Aanchal Malhotra.



Contact the Author:

Giveaway:
Signed copies + Bookmarks + specially made bag tags for the book
a Rafflecopter giveaway

12 April, 2018

#BookReview :: Victims for Sale by Nish Amarnath




Sandy Raman, stringer for the BBC, lives as a paying guest with the Sawants, a regular, quiet, Indian family. Or so she thought. Until she woke up to a woman with a knife … and a dark secret.
It is only after she runs a sting operation on a home for the differently abled that Sandy makes a connection between an institute acting as a front for something sinister and the strange family she lives with.
Chasing the truth up a trail of brutal murders, Sandy must evade the grasping clutches of a thriving sex racket and expose the predators before her time runs out. 



Goodreads * Amazon


The blurb of the book really intrigued me. I had a couple of questions in my mind immediately after reading the blurb that I hoped reading the book would answer for me.

Sandy Raman stays as a paying guest with the Sawants, who come across as a normal Indian family. What was supposed to be an arrangement of convenience, turns into a dangerous situation for Sandy. The Sawants may not be the average family they pretend to be as Sandy wakes up to the secrets that she feels compelled to uncover. As she stumbles upon a human trafficking ring, Sandy has to outsmart her opponents in order to survive… And if she does manage to survive, she may have the scoop that can make her career!

What really works for the book is the plotline that is bound to tug at the readers heart. Human trafficking is rampant all over the world and I feel that it is one of the biggest evil in our society. For most parts it targets women and children who often do not have a support system. As such, the basic outline of the plot attracted me quite a bit. The author has added elements of surprise in the book that can engage its readers. Plus, there is a fair bit of thrills and action to keep the pages turning.

The one aspect of the book that I thoroughly enjoyed was the setting. Having lived in London for a couple of months, I could identify certain places and picturize the other places quite easily. My stay at London was an unforgettable experience and as such I have only fond memories of it. To revisit some of the familiar places through the pages of this book was quite fun.

The character of the protagonist is well developed. It was clear that Sandy was an opinionated and intellectual personality. Her code of honor and her ability to sift between what’s right and wrong kept her going in the book. They were also the qualities that made her stand out from the other characters in the book. The secondary characters kind of blend in with each other as they do not have much that separates them. They are all very ordinary.

The book however, failed to make a mark in its narrative. There are so many moments where information is delivered in a way that it made me think that the author added it as an afterthought. If it was just once or twice, it would have come across as a writing quirk and might have added to the narrative. Instead it weakened the rhythm. The other thing that did not work for me was the way some of the ‘incidents’ and ‘breakthroughs’ happened… felt like it was too simple or too easy.

Also, note that there was one specific scene that was quite explicit and could be a trigger for some.


Review Copy received from Harper Collins India


11 April, 2018

#BookBlitz :: Then the Doorbell Rang by Capri Jalota

About the Book:



One fine morning, Jane wakes up and stands upon the ledge of her 18th floor flat in Dubai Marina. Till a few years back, she was everything that would make anyone jealous – beautiful, rich and successful. But then the wheels of time turned. Today, she is miserable and lonely. Would she get over a deception? Can she forgive herself for deserting a friend? Would she ever find true love? Will karma get the better of her or will life give her another chance to correct the wrongs?

Then the Doorbell Rang is about Jane’s roller-coaster journey as she explores the mystical phenomenon called Life.





Book Links:
Goodreads * Amazon


Fun Facts about the Author:

• The plot of his novel came in Dubai when a friend randomly pointed at a balcony and said "That is the balcony from which the lady jumped" - referring to an incident which had happened few days back
• Demonetization made this book a reality: Capri had left his job with a view of becoming an entrepreneur. He wrote part-time initially as he had been working on this plot for more than 2 years. But with demonetization happening within few months of his leaving the job, he decided to shift his focus to full-time writing and that's how this book became a reality
• Capri is an avid coin collector and has over 1200 coins in his collection from over 100 countries
• Capri loves to take up new challenges and explore new cities and cultures: During his professional career spanning 12 years, Capri has worked with three organizations, stayed in 7 different cities across three countries
• Capri loves snakes - he wishes to own a snake farm one day. In fact, one of his goals before he turns 50 is get trained as a professional snake catcher
• Capri was never into writing - he was so bad at writing that once his boss made him write an email repeatedly as he didn't find it good enough - it wasn't accepted even after 10 drafts. It hurt Capri so bad deep within that he almost made his life goal to be good at writing

About the Author:
In July 2016, when Capri's career was at an all-time high, he quit his job and decided to pursue one of his under-40 goals and that was to pen a novel. His first novel - "Then the doorbell rang", which is in fiction genre, has been published by Leadstart Publishing. His book has been released on Amazon and has received great responses.
Capri's philosophy in life is simple - Plan your life rather than follow a plan. Whilst this might sound contradictory, if you re-read the statement you would be able to understand the subtle difference. Planning is a continuous process whilst a plan is a static one. At different points in one's life, one must be able to revisit his life and re-sync it with life's changed priorities and circumstances.
And to be successful, it is very important to be passionate about what you do. "Passion is elixir for the soul" is something he truly believes in. This coupled with the right mentoring leads to an assured success.
Capri is keen to share his perspectives with the world through his writings and talks.

Goodreads * Amazon

In Association with Author's Channel



10 April, 2018

#BookBlitz :: Forsaken Paradise (The Forsaken #3) by Elise Whyles

About the Book:
What could be more dangerous than loving a rogue?

Condemned as a rogue and punished by his master, Angrail, one of the Seven Paradise Walkers, has wandered mortal and immortal worlds for centuries. He's determined to find those responsible for killing an innocent woman and the child she carried, no matter the cost to himself.

Ephynia, a demoness with scars, has spent a lifetime serving Nerafail, Lord of the Dead. When she unwittingly stumbles upon the one being who can end her loneliness, the battered Angrail, her life changes forever.

Unknown to Angrail and Ephynia, evil lurks in the shadows. There are those who believe Angrail and Ephynia are the key to preventing a coming war—a war that they need to take place—and they seek to end their lives.

Can Angrail find love in the arms of a demoness at war with herself? Or will the secrets hidden within the bowels of their worlds destroy them before they can find peace?

Book Links:

Read an Excerpt:

Angrail moaned, agony flowing like water through him. He could taste the souls wanting peace, hear their weak cries, but could do nothing. Shifting, the wounds he'd suffered screamed in protest, pain lacing through his muscles.

Inhaling a sharp breath, he froze. The sweetness of a strange smell stirred something within him. Blood, bone, life clung to whoever hovered nearby. The smell of smoke, of flame swirled in the air as well. Cracking his eyes open, he blinked to clear his vision and tensed.


Bronze skin glistening in the fading sunlight, a female stood at the mouth of the cave. Her arms were crossed beneath her breasts, a sword hanging at her hip. Multi-toned hair was slicked back, revealing the ornately decorated curve of a horn. She was a huntress. But why would she have removed him from the battlefield? None of her kind, or his own brethren, were allowed to touch him. Nerafail's generosity had bound them to watch him suffer. Aye, the old lord was a fool, one he had no desire to seek forgiveness from.


"What…" Licking his dry lips, he struggled into a sitting position. His head swam with the effort, his stomach revolting at the pain swarming him. "What do you have need of me?"


"You are awake. Excellent." The demoness turned, her eyes narrowed on him. "What do I have need with you? I should hope you have such an answer for me, guide."


Coughing, Angrail leaned his head against the stone, his chest tight, burning with the need for oxygen. Being trapped within the mortal frame had its drawbacks. "Who are you? Nerafail would not permit you to aid me."


"Aid? I have no desire to aid you. I wish to know why you called me back from my task." She stalked to him, her hips swaying. Hunkering down by his feet, she tilted her head. "I was sent forth to retrieve a soul and had nearly done that when I felt you. You kept me from leaving the field, I would know why."


"Go to Hardress." Angrail winced. "Back to your revelry and—"


"I would go home, but you refuse to release your bonds. You will tell me what I wish to know." She slammed him into the rock, her fingers tightening around his throat.


With her touch, Angrail's body arched, gasping for air as pain and heat washed over him in waves. He could feel her grip tightening, feel the force of her anger, and felt his own stirring.


He blinked, the images dancing in his mind ones he'd never seen before. Images that instinct told him were important.


Flames danced around them. Sweat beaded and rolled between her breasts. Her tongue licked at his skin, and her horns flared with passion. His shaft throbbed in yearning at her body undulating, her hips gyrating slowly. To and fro, rolling, pitching, she remained in constant motion, her hands trailing over her flesh, cupping her breasts. Her fingers plucked at her nipples, pulling on them until they stood hard, pointing toward him. She shuddered, her hand drifting down her abdomen, slipping beneath the braided belt of her skirt.


Heady, rich, the scent of her essence filled the air. Sweeter than honey, it teased along his shaft, filling him with want. Faint, the echo of her sliding her fingers through the folds between her legs grew in volume with each slow roll of her hips.


He pushed the images out of his head and shoved her arm aside, his eyes narrowing. "Careful, huntress, you're showing weakness."


"Tell me and I'll ease your misery."


"You can't."


About the Author:
Born in Northern British Columbia, Elise is a small-town girl. She writes in a variety of genres including paranormal, contemporary suspense, m/m in various lengths. Currently, she lives in British Columbia with her husband and son, one dog, one cat, and a gecko. Elise enjoys reading as much as she does writing, with some of her favorite books being read until they fall apart. 
She is currently working on the next book in the Forsaken Series, Burning Rain. As well she has a new contemporary she’s working on. For more information on Elise, or to check out her books you can find her on Facebook, twitter, and her website.



Contact the Author:

#Spotlight :: Path to Passion by Nana Prah



BLURB

The man who broke her heart . . .
Is the man she now needs more than ever!
Heir to his family’s global empire, branding genius Miguel Astacio turns everything into marketing gold. Only his best friend’s sister seems immune to his magic touch. Until Tanya Carrington comes to him to save her floundering nightclub. Miguel is ready to rectify past mistakes. But will his supreme sacrifice win the heart of the woman he loves? 

Add to Goodreads: https://goo.gl/hbCASz



EXCERPT
Miguel’s blood heated as she gave him a wavering smile. She was just too beautiful, with clear skin marked only by a dark mole at the corner of her nose, angled dark eyes and full lickable lips.
“I mean,” Tanya continued, “I won’t even be able to recognize the place when its completed. Everything sounds incredible, but I may have to draw the line at the cages for dancers.”
He thought she might. “Trust me, if we charge people to dance in them, they will pay. The one rule is that they have to keep their clothes on.”
 “We’ll see.” She stared at the screen again with her eyes unblinking “Um…” She rubbed the back of her neck and a light sheen of sweat broke out on her forehead. “How much will this cost?”
Now for the heavy convincing. He got up and stood beside her to point at the CCTV screen showing the dance area, which had filled up a little more in the hour they’d been going over his ideas. “I can see this place packed, people waiting all the way up the street trying to get in. VIP area filled with actors, musicians and pro athletes flying in to experience it.”
Unable to resist, he leaned close so they were almost cheek to cheek. Her heat and honeysuckle perfume floated into him, and he turned his head so his starving lips could caress her one more time. He kissed along her jaw until he met the sensitive area of her neck, where he teased her with gentle nips until she moaned. She sprang as far away from him as the room would allow.
What had he been thinking? Why did she affect him this way? She took away his willpower like no other woman had ever done. Thinking became almost impossible when she was around. The desire to smooth his hands over her incredibly silky soft skin drove him to get closer, but he stayed rooted to the spot, watching her rub the goose pimples from her arms.
“Answer the question, Miguel.” He was pleased to hear her voice quiver. “How much will it cost?”
He’d rather discuss the turbulent heat swirling between them, but if she wanted to ignore it then he should, too. “You’ve heard the saying that you have to spend money to make money, right?”
Her slow nod brought her hair forward. He watched as she brushed back the strands he wanted to filter his fingers through, bringing her close so they could fall into the attraction drawing them together.






PREORDER LINKS

Barnes and Noble: https://goo.gl/eH9ok8




CONNECT WITH NANA