22 April, 2017

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - The Music of Science and the Science of Music.


*** Special Feature - April 2017 ***


About the Author:
Impressions on a South African farm, boarding school, a father who read from the classics to his children, and a storytelling mother, sparked Geoffrey Wells with a writer’s imagination. Though the piano and drum kits and Mozambique led to his first thriller, A Fado for the River, his career as Art Director in advertising led him to the American Film Institute, and an awe of digital technology propelled him to VP/CIO at Disney, ABC-TV stations and Fox. Wells wrote an award-winning animated film, has visited elephant reserves, and climbed to the tip of Kilimanjaro. He lives on Long Island where he swims the open water and runs a video and design company. He writes thrillers about imperfect characters who, always with a diverse band of allies, fight villains that devastate our natural and virtual ecosystems.

Atone for the Ivory Cloud is a compelling, fast-paced thriller with an exotic international flavor. Geoffrey Wells takes the reader on an enthralling ride, skillfully entwining cybercrime, music, and the fate of African elephants in a breathtaking tale of danger and romance.”
Pamela Burford, best-selling author of Undertaking Irene.

Contact the Author:
Website * Facebook * Twitter

The Music of Science and the Science of Music.
(Themes from Atone for the Ivory Cloud)

      When I set out to write a novel of contrasts—characters, ethnicity, countries, occupations—I also wanted to include problem solving techniques. Specifically, the dogged methods used by CIA Special Agent Garrett with the creative methods used by my main character, Allison. If you’ve been following this series, you’ll know that Allison composes music. The problem she must solve is the theft of her online music, which she has composed. Because of who she is: introverted, obsessed, focused, single-minded and (yes) selfish, the idea of having her music erased, or copied without crediting her, is even worse than the reality. Her only resource is to attempt to solve her problem with the only tool she knows—her music.

Her roommate, who tests code for a virtual currency wallet service, turns her onto a code-writing course. She is surprised by how easily she takes to it. When she realizes that the syntax of coding is similar to the syntax of music composition—the grammatical rules and structural patterns—she makes peace with this new discipline. Although she does not realize it, she has become a hacker, and she implements her own anti-piracy solution from code snippets she finds on the Internet. Problem solved. Except, Garret tells her that a cybercrime syndicate has found her code to be a useful proxy to hide behind for their ivory trafficking. And so she too—unwittingly—codes in the Dark Web.

As she gets deeper into the mission (while at the same time her music commission deadline looms), she can’t help noticing that even the development methodology is quite similar. The iterative process of music composition aligns almost seamlessly with the coding disciplines she has learned about—testing, modifying, and rerunning code. It is empowering to her. Suddenly going undercover to trap the syndicate seems almost possible.

This alignment is not a new discovery. In June 2003, Aniruddh D Patel published his paper, Language, Music, Syntax and the Brain in the journal Nature Neuroscience. It is a comparative study of music and language. He states that, “Like language, music is a human universal involving perceptually discrete elements organized into hierarchically structured sequences. Music and language can thus serve as foils for each other in the study of brain mechanisms underlying complex sound processing…”

If this is true, the techniques that Garrett and Allison use might be essentially the same, however what differentiates them is that Garrett works in a closed system, whereas Allison regards the worldwide web as her personal resource. This disparity reinforces their distinct points of view, which are poles apart. However, because they are both smart and emotionally intelligent people they recognize their commonality: Garret uses the science of criminology and applies it musically, whereas Allison uses the art of music composition and applies it scientifically to solve her problem. This is why Allison turns out to be such a valuable recruit for the CIA.

The common ground of art, music and science has always fascinated me. Music—especially since it became a digital medium—has had an adversarial relationship in the Internet, starting with illegal file sharing, then Napster and even now with Spotify and Apple and the on-going battles for artist rights, which Tyler Swift made into headlines. But there’s no denying that, despite the disintegration of the traditional music industry—a closed system—people have unprecedented access to music now—as they do with literature. Now, perhaps Garret and Allison can figure out how to pay artists for their work.

More on this is coming in my next thriller, Book Three of the Trilogy for Freedom.  To read Books One and Two, please see my landing page at: https://goo.gl/CB3xPI


About the Book:
A brilliant composer and coder goes undercover to trap a cybercrime syndicate that has hijacked her website—to traffic blood ivory. She must survive impossible physical, virtual and cultural obstacles and choose between the opposing forces of privacy and responsibility.

Allison is stunned when the CIA leaves her no option but to go undercover to surreptitiously modify the code she wrote to protect her symphony. She is deployed from New York with a savvy street vendor to Tanzania, where he is from—and where the cybercrime trail goes dead. Their guarded love affair is sidelined when they are abducted by a trafficker who poaches elephants on a massive scale. To avoid betraying each other they abandon their CIA handlers and return to New York City. Allison must find a way to bring down the syndicate knowing that she might have to sacrifice her symphony, her loved ones and her privacy—for a greater good.

Goodreads * Amazon




Giveaway
3 eBooks of Atone for the Ivory Clouds
a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 April, 2017

#CoverReveal :: Redemption (Living A Lie #3) by M.L.Kacy



Cover & Trailer Reveal:


Redemption


(Living A Lie Part Three)


by


M.L. Kacy



Apr 21st





 @MLKacyAuthor    @obsessiveppromo

#Redemption #M.L.Kacy #CoverReveal








Your life journey can change in a blink of an eye.
A new place, a new beginning, that’s what is in store for me.
Would I make better choices this time?
Mistakes will be made, some are for the better, some for the worse.
I have one saving grace, a redemption of sorts.
I created lives, ones that I would love unconditionally.
They would be the ones that would help me along.
Thoughts of them would always bring me back from the depths of darkness.

Join me in the final instalment of the Living A Lie series



















In your early adult years, you think that you know it all. Well that’s how I was looking back on my life. Nearly nineteen-years later, it’s true what they say, you always learn by your mistakes, mistakes make you into a stronger person. Boy, did I make a hell of a lot of mistakes. I never thought that my life would turn out the way that it did. There are only four things that I would never regret, my four beautiful children. They were, and still are, my saving grace, my redemption of sorts. When the darkness became too much, thoughts of them would pull me into the light.

This is my story, it’s not a story that is all sweetness and light. It’s a story of love, regret, devastation, darkness and maybe a little redemption.

So here we are, I shall start from the beginning.
Part One

***Disclaimer- Some of the content in this book can cause triggers for some. Also, contains profanity, erotic scenes and only suitable for readers 18+***
















                                           



Darkness Surrounds

(Part Two Living A Lie Series)












Darkness surrounds me, a dreary, cold, place with no escape.

Feeling lost, alone and confused I’m sucked deep into my own mind.

A place I soon became comfortable in, a place where I can hide.

The darkness becomes my respite, my shelter.

A buffer from the devastation of my own broken dreams.

Trapped in my own mind I search in circles for
answers.

Surviving but not living, my heart bleeding and broken from my loss.

Torn up by guilt, thoughts of being punished for some perceived fault.

Confusion and turmoil become my only companions.

I need to start living again they tell me - but could I?

Do I have the strength to crawl my way out of my own mind?

Then again, do I really want to?

If I do escape the void will I still be me and if not, can I accept the person I’ve become?

Follow my journey in part two of my Living A Lie Series.

***Disclaimer- Some of the content in this book can cause triggers for some. Also, contains profanity, erotic scenes and only suitable for readers 18+***






Available with Kindle Unlimited


















I have been involved in the indie community for several years and have always loved how everyone comes together in support of each other.
I love writing and reading, living life with my family, and always coming up with new ideas and putting then in to practice.

Words have a way of healing someone, so I will carry on writing, included events that have happened and taking you all on a journey with me.



 


 




 Hosted by
Obsessive Pimpettes Promotions













15 April, 2017

#SpecialFeature :: #GuestPost - The strangely liberating world of shifting cyber landscapes


*** Special Feature - April 2017 ***


About the Author:
Impressions on a South African farm, boarding school, a father who read from the classics to his children, and a storytelling mother, sparked Geoffrey Wells with a writer’s imagination. Though the piano and drum kits and Mozambique led to his first thriller, A Fado for the River, his career as Art Director in advertising led him to the American Film Institute, and an awe of digital technology propelled him to VP/CIO at Disney, ABC-TV stations and Fox. Wells wrote an award-winning animated film, has visited elephant reserves, and climbed to the tip of Kilimanjaro. He lives on Long Island where he swims the open water and runs a video and design company. He writes thrillers about imperfect characters who, always with a diverse band of allies, fight villains that devastate our natural and virtual ecosystems.

Atone for the Ivory Cloud is a compelling, fast-paced thriller with an exotic international flavor. Geoffrey Wells takes the reader on an enthralling ride, skillfully entwining cybercrime, music, and the fate of African elephants in a breathtaking tale of danger and romance.”
Pamela Burford, best-selling author of Undertaking Irene.

Contact the Author:
Website * Facebook * Twitter

The strangely liberating world of shifting cyber landscapes

(Themes from Atone for the Ivory Cloud)

Most Internet users object to invasions of their privacy, yet they continue to use the Internet with the most rudimentary security, if any. Specifically, people don’t make the effort to protect their Internet browsing history and personal work from the eyes of strangers—in fact the open source movement encourages it. And, while we hate to think that our most private activities online could become public knowledge, we are also horrified by the prospect that we need to use the same tools as the scum bags who hide behind privacy protections where they serve as a proxy for unsavory and illegal activities. 

In my thriller, Atone for the Ivory Cloud I provide a perspective on the value of privacy. My book also sheds light on the current uproar in the United States over the potential for Internet Service Providers (ISPs) to have access to the browsing habits of US citizens. I construct a scenario where the service to the Internet is ubiquitous—as is its source. The result is the practice of noninterference in the affairs of others through unfettered open access—provided it can be found. In this world search engines won’t help because no one cares about keywords or optimization. But word of mouth is highly optimized. Big data analysis is impossible. Welcome to the laissez-faire Internet, to us, unthinkable, but to many societies on our planet this is the self-governing method used in markets across the world. And in my book, the Kariakoo market in Dar es Salaam is one of them.

In my thriller, Sipho, a Tanzanian textile merchant uses a “box”—an Internet access device—to connect Allison, my main character, to the Internet. The fictional assumption is that rouge Internet devices are prevalent in East African small business operations—including ivory trafficking. In the fictional world I have created, the cat-and-mouse game between small businesses and their predators is constant. This means that merchants like Sipho constantly swap out one device for another to stay one step ahead and obfuscate themselves from cyber criminals who want to steal their revenue streams. When Sipho realizes that Allsion, the electronic composer he met in New York is under cover on the same CIA mission into which he has been recruited, he urges her to use a box to communicate with him. He knows that in Dar es Salaam even her CIA protection can be compromised by the dubious operating procedures at work there, in my story.

The “box” device that I have concocted in my story is loosely based on devices like SupaBRCK working on operating systems like Moja, from the Nairobi-based BRCK.COM company. This CDN (content delivery network that delivers webpages to users) is a service that provides organizations with access to the Internet in a world where power supply is unreliable. In February 2017, the SupaBRCK won the Aegis Graham Bell award in New Delhi, India. My “box” however, takes this model and extends it into a nefarious world where these types of device can emulate Internet Service Providers (ISPs)—hundreds of them—adding and loosing clients every hour.

My ecological technothriller is about Allison, a talented New York-based electronic composer and coder who must go undercover to trap a cybercrime syndicate that has hijacked her website—to traffic African ivory.

Based on this setup you have Allison who is under cover using a different identity, whereas before she was recruited she was still trying to recover from a stolen identity. In other words, she has no idea who she really is. At least, not at first. Then she’s immersed into this shifting cyber landscape where everything is ephemeral and computer network memory can be lost in a second. Surprisingly, this is strangely liberating to her introverted composer sensibility. In the chaos of the physical and virtual world she finds herself, she stumbles on her own authenticity.

If these themes interest you, I invite you to join my newsletter and get a free ebook of Atone for the Ivory Cloud at: http://dl.bookfunnel.com/y1v7e5ikkb


About the Book:
A brilliant composer and coder goes undercover to trap a cybercrime syndicate that has hijacked her website—to traffic blood ivory. She must survive impossible physical, virtual and cultural obstacles and choose between the opposing forces of privacy and responsibility.

Allison is stunned when the CIA leaves her no option but to go undercover to surreptitiously modify the code she wrote to protect her symphony. She is deployed from New York with a savvy street vendor to Tanzania, where he is from—and where the cybercrime trail goes dead. Their guarded love affair is sidelined when they are abducted by a trafficker who poaches elephants on a massive scale. To avoid betraying each other they abandon their CIA handlers and return to New York City. Allison must find a way to bring down the syndicate knowing that she might have to sacrifice her symphony, her loved ones and her privacy—for a greater good.

Goodreads * Amazon




Giveaway
3 eBooks of Atone for the Ivory Clouds
a Rafflecopter giveaway

14 April, 2017

#Spotlight :: Ultimate Night’s Delights by Kelli A. Wilkins

New Release: Ultimate Night’s Delights – Hot Historical/Fantasy Romance
By Kelli A. Wilkins
www.amazon.com/author/kelliwilkins

Hi Everyone,
Today I’m sharing an “inside look” at the third book in my super-hot erotic fantasy trilogy, Naughty Nobles. The series includes Midsummer Night’s Delights, Midwinter Night’s Delights, and Ultimate Night’s Delights. Although the books are connected, each stands alone as an individual read.
In previous blogs, I wrote about Midsummer Night’s Delights and Midwinter Night’s Delights. Midsummer introduced readers to repressed newlyweds, Julian and Annabelle. They are strangers trapped in an arranged, sexless marriage. To loosen them up, Julian’s father sends them to the Marquis of Demby’s estate to attend a Midsummer Ball. (And this type of ball isn’t for dancing!) 

The second book in the series, Midwinter Night’s Delights, picks up six months after the last story and follows the continuing sexual adventures of Annabelle and Julian. (And yes, this novella is just as hot – if not hotter – than the first one!)

Ultimate Night’s Delights is the third and final novella in the series. I never intended to write a trilogy, but the characters kept popping up in my head, and I knew they had more stories to tell! Readers and reviewers fell in love with the characters and the storyline, so I decided to write one more book that wrapped up the trilogy.

However, when I started thinking about the plot, I wasn’t sure what direction to take. I knew there had to be something interesting (beyond a naughty “anything goes” ball) that raised the stakes for everyone, and I thought about blackmail. From there, I developed the idea of the “Black Duke” and his mission to destroy Vincent. Then of course, I had to devise a clever way to tie it all together at the end. 

I also enhanced a storyline and shared some insight on two secondary characters, Lono and Lobo. (Readers were briefly introduced to them in the second book.) In this story, I explain how they came to be employed by Vincent and Sabrina and what’s ahead for them in the future. 

I think fans of the first two novellas will find this book to be a satisfying conclusion to the series. 

Here’s the summary and a very adult excerpt:


About the Book
Ultimate Night’s Delights
Julian and Annabelle are back for the final ball!


The Midsummer and Midwinter Balls changed Julian and Annabelle forever. Vincent, the Marquis of Demby, and his wife, Sabrina, introduced them to a world of erotic pleasures. Freed from their inhibitions, they now help other shy couples explore their sexual urges and hidden desires. 

But life on Vincent and Sabrina’s estate is anything but tranquil. The notorious Duke of Blackwell has discovered the secret about the naughty balls and is out to destroy the marquis. 

Vincent refuses to deny the rumors about the “anything goes” parties he hosts, and turns to his friends for assistance. Together, they devise a plan to defeat the Black Duke… and still find time for a few wicked games.



A HOT excerpt:

Annabelle knelt on the tile floor in front of Vincent and took his prick into her mouth. Hot and thick, it tasted like the minerals in the bathwater. She grasped his buttocks as she sucked him.
“Ah, that’s it. Go on,” he whispered. “Take more.”
She opened her mouth wider and drew him in deeper. When they had approached the bed, Vincent told her to get him hard so he could screw her properly. Lono—or Lobo—stood at the head of the bed staring off into space as if nothing out of the ordinary was happening. Sometimes Lono and Lobo participated in the games, but mostly they watched. Even when she tried to get a rise out of them, they barely noticed her.
Annabelle peeked at the other bed. Sabrina sat on the edge and Julian was on his knees with his blond head buried between her thighs. Would they switch partners later? She looked forward to making love with Sabrina. Their kissing and touching in the bathing pool had gotten her excited.
“Stop. Get on the bed,” Vincent said.
She obeyed and lay on her back, legs parted. Vincent knelt over her and picked up a jar of cream from the nearby table. He scooped out a handful and smeared it all over her, making her cry out. The hot lotion! She and Julian had used this before—it burned and prickled when it was first applied, but after a minute, it turned everything fiery hot and made you eager to screw for hours.
Vincent pulled two silk straps out from beneath the red coverlet. He opened her legs wider and fastened each ankle to a bedpost. Now she was completely open to him.
She squirmed on the soft mattress as Vincent positioned himself on top of her. This would be fantastic. Vincent was hard, and she couldn’t wait to feel him inside her. Having her legs tied would add to the thrill.
“Lobo, take her arms,” Vincent ordered.
Lobo grasped her forearms in his wide hands. He stretched her arms over her head, holding her immobile.
“Thank you,” Vincent said, as he shoved himself into her.
Annabelle rocked her hips in time to meet Vincent’s solid thrusts. The cream filled her with a blazing lust. She strained against the straps, desperate to wrap her legs around Vincent’s hips. Instead, she had to remain bound and at his mercy…


Order your copy here:
Amazon * Apple * B&N * Kobo * Inktera

I enjoy hearing from readers and other authors. Feel free to drop me a line with questions or comments about the series. 

Be sure to follow my blog for the latest updates and visit me on social media.

Happy Reading!

Kelli A. Wilkins


About the Author:
Kelli A. Wilkins is an award-winning author who has published more than 100 short stories, 19 romance novels, and 5 non-fiction books. Her romances span many genres and heat levels.
Her trilogy of erotic romance novellas, Midsummer Night’s Delights, Midwinter Night’s Delights, and Ultimate Night’s Delights was released in spring 2017.
Loving a Wild Stranger was published in January 2017. This historical/pioneer romance is set in the wilds of the Michigan Territory and blends tender romance with adventure.
Kelli's third Medallion Press romance, Lies, Love & Redemption was released in September 2016. This spicy historical western is set on the Nebraska prairie in 1877.

Her writing book, You Can Write—Really! A Beginner’s Guide to Writing Fiction is a fun and informative guide filled with writing exercises and helpful tips all authors can use.

Kelli posts on her Facebook Author Page and Twitter. She also writes a weekly Blog
Visit her Website to learn more about all of her writings, read book excerpts, reviews, and more. Readers can sign up for her newsletter HERE.

Catch Up with Kelli:

09 April, 2017

#BookReview :: Beastly Lights by Theresa Jane

Gambled away by her brother, Freya is now bound to the music world's resident bad boy Liam Henderson as his live-in maid. 
Freya Coleman is a struggling artist who can hardly get by. With a past she would rather not revisit and a future that didn't extend past her next cup of coffee, something had to change. Freya just didn't know how much. 

Liam Henderson lives in the spotlight. His wild nights and latest conquests make every woman want him, and every man wants to be him. The rockstar has a carefully constructed persona to keep everyone out. That is, until a drunken night gets out of hand and he finds himself with the winning hand in a poker game, and the prize is a feisty redhead. A prize who just might break down the walls he has been so desperately hiding behind. 

Thrown together, these two are a disaster waiting to happen. A disaster the world is eager to watch and comment on until their fingers drop off. What starts off as a fake relationship to improve Liam’s image, blossoms into so much more, and Freya is swept up into the world of bright lights and illusions. Everyone has an opinion when the lights are shining on their beloved rock god Liam Henderson, and they are eagerly waiting to tear down anyone who is bathed in the famous glow. 

Can happily ever after exist when the whole world is watching? 


Freya Coleman is a struggling artist in the big city mostly left to fend for herself. Her brother too lives in the same city but they do not have a very good relationship as such she turns to him in only the direst situations. On one such night she finds herself being gambled away by her drunken brother to none other than Liam Henderson, the rockstar. Liam is known as a wild playboy who likes to party. When the worlds of these to collide; there is bound to be some fireworks. But the question is whether they will be able to overcome their own burdens and find their way to each other with the whole world watching and commenting?

Freya and Liam’s relationship was dysfunctional from the very beginning. Liam is quite a self-obsessed man with a sad past. Freya knows what harm alcoholism can cause not only to the one who drinks but also to the people around them, yet she keeps trying to change things hoping for a different outcome every time… whether it is with her father or her brother or Liam. Having witnessed the evil that alcoholism is closely, I know how difficult it can be for the people around. I failed to understand how Freya could even take a chance with Liam after witnessing her father and brother. I guess she is on the opposite pole end from me when it comes down to reacting to something. In any case, I could understand, to a point, what she was trying to do. But her strength shone through when she took the difficult decision of putting herself first. I really liked her when she realizes that she had given enough and it was her turn to live for herself.

I did enjoy the overall plotline of the story even though it didn’t surprise me at any point. The author’s narrative style is simple and language is dainty. It is really easy to get into the story because of it. The supporting characters were interesting too. I loved Anthony, Ryan, Jarred, Lucinda and the sweetheart Davis. My cribbing point with the book is that the author has shown enough of the ‘problem’ but nothing on how they tackled the problem. Freya’s father just turns up sober and gets her brother some help and Liam too cleans himself up while she was away. It was too easy and convenient. Real life is harder messier than this.

Overall, it is certainly worth a one-time read.


Review Copy received from Inkitt


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...