25 March, 2016

#BookReview :: Star Struck (The Ladybirds #4) by Jenny McLachlan

Following on from Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb and Sunkissed, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.

In a huge fantastic final hurrah to our lovable heroines - Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl - Jenny McLachlan's latest book tells Pearl's story. Pearl is the 'bad girl' of the group - she drinks, she smokes, she swears - and she's mean to Bea and Betty. But she did fly halfway round the world to rescue Kat in Sunkissed. If there's one thing Pearl knows deep down, it is how to be a friend. And now, more than ever, she could really use a friend.

There will be laughter, there will be tears and there will definitely be kissing. Most importantly, Pearl will be keeping it fierce! 


Goodreads I Amazon



The ladybird series focuses on a quirky group of friends. Each as different from the other that one can be, yet it is their undisputable friendship that binds them together. I stumbled upon the series when Bloomsbury India had sent me a review copy and have been following the series since.

Star Struck focuses on Pearl, a girl who has intrigued me from the beginning. She is the ‘bad girl’ of the group and fills that role awfully well what with her mean attitude that shows up from time to time. Towards the beginning I really did not understand why she was a part of this group. It was in Sunkissed that she actually makes a mark as a friend. Pearl was focused on landing a role in the school production but the role is given to the new girl, Hoshi. Hoshi seems to be worming her way into everything that Pearl holds dear, including her group of friends. Of course, Pearl isn’t a girl to be sidelined so easily and so she plans her revenge. But then she gets to know Hoshi… And well, things take a turn. 

The storyline was as usual quite predictable though the dynamic between Hoshi and Pearl did surprise me at a point. The author’s style of narration maintains uniformity and meets my expectations from the previous books – I do not see much of a change there, whether good or bad.  The easy to get into and upbeat language that the author uses is really a plus of the series. There were spots, especially in the middle where the story seemed to hold the pace a bit and there were certain issues that remained unanswered which is a bummer since this is the last book in the series.

However, being the story of the ‘bad girl’ of the group also has its perks. It is totally fun and this installment is now my favourite in the series.


Review Copy received via NetGalley



No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...